Herb Roasted Chicken and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I made a few modifications, and this recipe turned out fabulous! I used a whole cut up chicken, trimmed the excess fat and skin, and brushed the meat with a little olive with a crushed clove of garlic in it. I added 4 medium sized potatoes and 4 carrots cut into 1 or 1/2 inch chunks, and poured an 18 oz. can of Progresso Creamy Mushroom soup (sorry Campbell's!)over the top. Then I sprinkled liberally with salt & pepper, herbs de Provence and smoked paprika for color, and baked it for a little over an hour. The chicken was moist, the vegetables were tender, and the gravy was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was very good! My fiance and I both really enjoyed it. I cooked it a little longer than it said and the carrots were still not cooked, but the potatoes were. I think next time I will cut the baby carrots in half, and it will be fine. I wasn't completely sure if this was supposed to be covered or not, if it was the veggies would cook quicker, but you wouldnt get the crispy outside of the chicken. I may try covering it for part of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This was a very good easy dinner. I had everything in the house. I did modify it just a bit. I added diced onion and sliced fresh mushrooms. To the soup, I added 1 TBS of dijon mustard and 1 TBS of whorchestershire sauce. I seasoned the chicken with seasoned salt, pepper, italian season(since I didn't have oregano) and garlic powder. I was worried that the chix and vegie would not cook in 50 mins, so I cooked it about 1 hour 20mins and the chicken was over cooked and the vegies were perfect. I will probably try it with those frozen chix breast next time and cook them from frozen for the 1hr 20mins or 1hr 30mins and I am sure it will be prefect. I never like these soup things but we really liked it alot. I loved how easy it was!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlwolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was awesome! We were looking for something quick and easy and this was perfect. I didn't read any of the reviews beforehand, but did make a few minor changes on my own. I used a bag of mixed veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots), cut the potatoes into small chunks and added rosemary. Had I been less lazy, I would have thrown in some onion. Overall, this is perfect for a lazy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisLove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
My husband and I both liked it, and it was sooo easy! I didn't change a thing besides the time to bake it. 50 minutes just didn't seem like enough time. the chicken didn't get cooked all the way thru and the potatoes weren't done either. But we'll definately be making it again, just allowing for more baking time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis Junction, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Very good and very easy. I cut the potatoes smaller than suggested, as I saw other reviewers have commented that they came out under cooked - most of them turned out perfect, with just a few a bit under done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
After TWO hours in the oven, the potatoes were finally soft enough to eat. I made several changes to the recipe, after reading the other reviews. I used 1/2 c. water with chicken bouillion, added a couple stalks of chopped celery, onion powder, garlic powder and omitted the recommended herbs. I sprinkled all with freshly ground pepper and sea salt, and sprinkled a bit of paprika on top of the chicken. I checked the vegetables at 1/2 hour...hard as a rock. After 1 hour, it was just starting to heat up. At 1 1/2 hours, I knew the end was in sight, and after two hours, dinner was served. Unfortunately, I had an engagement. Husband loved it, even though he ate by himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I saw this recipe and figured I'd give it a shot. Figuring some had mentioned that it was a bit bland I thought I'd spice it up a bit and make some substitutions. I substituted the cream of mushroom for cream of chicken. While preparing the chicken I had the potatoes cut into wedges sitting in a bowl of salt water. I cleaned the chicken halfs and took off the skin. I seasoned the chicken pieces with garlic powder and Adobo. Instead of paprika I sprinkled Goya - Sazon (con cilantro) seasoning on the potatoes and chicken. I also added broccolli to the dish. Halfway through cooking I took the dish out and mixed everything around a bit, making sure that there was sauce covering all the vegetables. Then when done, I removed the chicken pieces, tossed the vegetables around again, replaced the chicken pieces bone side up this time and let it cook for another 10 mins. These substitutions made it taste great and was delicious. I made some garlic bread to eat with this and everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Really Really easy and really good... we'll be making this again, so easy to use in a pinch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This was a quick and easy recipe.. however the potatoes were a little bland.. the carrots were delicious along with the chicken.. it needs something added to it.. just haven't figured out what yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States