Herb, Garlic and Bacon Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I substituted dried herbs for the fresh; my kitchen isn't gourmet enough to have fresh herbs laying around :) I also used half the liquid because I didn't want gravy, and it still turned out good, probably would be fine without liquid all together--maybe next time I'll try that. Excellent herb flavor, although for me, a bit heavy on the rosemary. I used the broiler at the end to crisp up the bacon and it was the best part! Thanks for the recipe, Wanda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
very tender and juicy when its time to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This was a great recipe, I doubled it for a party because most pork loins come in about 10 pound packages anyway. As a side dish after I made it. I drained the broth that it made, took off the oil that it produced and discarded it and cut up potatoes and poured the broth over the potatoes and roasted them in the oven. you could put the potatoes in with the roasts after you remove the foil, but their is a lot of oil from the bacon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Batesville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
My family DEVOURED this, most excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
My mom and I made this on New Years Day and served it with Green Bean Casserole, Broccoli Rice Casserole and Black-Eyed Peas (of course, for New Year's) (We made up several Green Bean Casseroles and Brocolli Rice Casseroles for the holidays and froze them for just such occassions) We dusted the outside of the roast with flour and seared it before placing it in a pot with onions, garlic and spices. We also used Hungarian Paprika to give it an extra kick! It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriJeannine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Mc Gregor, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Oh my goodness! We couldn't wait to eat dinner the night this was cooking. The smell was wonderful! The meat was flavorful and moist. Made good leftovers also. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I seared the pork before I baked it, to keep the moisture in the meat. I put enough bacon to completely cover the pork, and cooked it exactly as the recipe said to. The bacon never got crispy, but added good flavor. Make sure you use a meat thermometer, they say if its over 150 degrees it's done, but I like to make sure it's at 160 degrees. I did occasionally baste the meat too. Overall I thought this recipe was a hit. The meat had excellent flavor, and it was moist. I did however feel that there was a bit too much Rosemary. Maybe it would be better to crush the Rosemary and use less of it. My local grocery store did not have pearl Onions, so I used a sweet onion instead, still tasted great!!! We greatly enjoyed this recipe, Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This recipe was incredible. I as well put in less rosemary, but I added extra garlic and seared the roast. Throw in Potatos and veggies for the last bit of cooking, serve in a oven to table dish and you have a meal that everyone will rave about. And the best part hardly any dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This was delicious... I will make this over and over. And it smelled great while it was cooking. I also used dry spices, I didn't have any fresh:( Next time I will add more chicken stock and less rosemary, I changed the servings to 2, so maybe that is why I will need more chicken stock. Anyway, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
The marinade really tenderized the meat. I had to broil at the end to crisp the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States