Herb, Garlic and Bacon Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Tracy
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I only needed to serve 4 people, so I used a 2.5 lb pork loin (which is actually sold as 2 separate pieces of meat). I laid them side by side and wrapped the bacon across both. I couldn't find fresh pearl onions, so I cut a yellow onion into wedges and also added some carrots as well. I used a meat therm. to cook to 160 which, which only took about 45 minutes. Then I used the broiler for another 10 minutes to crisp up the bacon. I think it was too long in the broiler because I found the meat to be a bit dry. I'd try 5 minutes next time. Since it was a little dry, I made a gravy from the pan drippings by adding some cornstarch mixed with water. It turned out great! And the 2.5 pork loin probably would've fed 6 people. I had plenty of leftovers. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was good....I liked the flavor and the pork was tender, but it tasted like it was a little dried out to me. I liked the bacon and onion flavor along with the herbs. I will make again, but try to add more chicken stock next time. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
WOW, this was amazing! And very easy!! Made it for Superbowl Sunday Sandwiches- SO GOOD. However, the amount of fat that hardened on top the next day made me not want to eat seconds....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was good. Had it for a family dinner, and it turned out good. I didn't think it was very juicy, could've been cause I cooked it to long in the slow cooker...but over all it was a good way to cook a pork roast! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
The bacon was the final touch this dish needed to be so yummy. I used my meat injector to inject some of the liquid with seasonings and garlic cloves to make the meat even more flavorful. We barely had any leftovers and thats saying alot when we used a big 6 lb pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
The meat turned out very moist and tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Very good! My husband loves pork loin so I am always looking for a 'different' recipe. I used about 1/2 tea of sage (as not a HUGE sage fan), and 1/2 of the rosemary. Also, cooked in crock pot for 3 1/2 hours on high. You don't get the crisp bacon, but the flavor is still excellent. Added potatoes and oinon. Used the juice to make gravy and it was delicious. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Loved this recipe! Made first time for a dinner party of 12 and had RAVE reviews. I used applewood smoked bacon which had a great flavor and decreased the rosemary by 1/2. I also broiled the last 8-10 minutes to crisp the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Skippack, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Who thinks of these things?! BACON ON PORK!! WOW!! This was amazing. Everyone raved about the flavor. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This was an excellent recipe! We will definitely make it again. For the chicken stock, I just used 2 cans of chicken broth. I also broiled it for the last five minutes or so as previously recommended to make the bacon crispier. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States