Herb, Garlic and Bacon Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
If you like rosemary than you might like this recipe. The bacon did add some flavor but with all the spices the rosemary still overtook it and our family didn't care for it very much. We ate it two days in a row with all the leftovers but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
great flavor but too much liquid and even with the lid off the bacon was soggy and limp. Less liquid and a broiler as other reviewers noted should make this much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Meyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very good, but a little salty with both the bacon and the pork loin. Also might try with pork tenderloin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Pig and more pig! Delicious! I used a small tenderloin and marinated it in sweet white wine, basil, rosemary (I always crush my dried rosemary), oregano, white pepper, and sage. Then, I roasted it with some onions coated in olive oil. I turned the broiler on low at the end for about 7 minutes to crisp up the bacon! I served it with garlic mashed potatoes and made gravy from the pork drippings and added some garlic, salt, and fresh ground pepper. Peppery, just the way I like it! My husband raved! We had some pork left but, no bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3Horses
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
PERFECT in every way! I only had dried herbs and it was still amazing! I only needed about 2 cups chicken stock, 10 slices bacon, 1/2 Tbsp. dried rosemary, 1/2 Tbsp dried oregano, 1 Tbsp. dried thyme, 1 Tbsp dried basil, 1/2 Tbsp. dried sage and 1 Tbsp. minced garlic from a jar. I froze about 1/2 of it and it tasted great reheated too. I did brush it w/2 Tbsp of olive oil and seared it first, and then rubbed the herbs on the roast instead of mixing them w/the chicken stock. Then I draped the 10 slices of low sodium bacon horizontally over the roast. I used 3 baseball size sweet onions instead of pearl onions, and didn't add them until probably the last 30 minutes. The timing on this recipe was perfect for me as well. It was about 145 or 150 degrees when I pulled it out and rested it under a loose tent of aluminum foil until it reached 160 degrees (about 10 minutes). I had to put the onions back in to cook more while the meat rested. To the pan juices and onions, I added 1 cup of riesling wine, 1 tbsp cold butter and simmered it on the stove for about 15-20 minutes. It was an amazing sauce to pour over the roast and saved well for leftovers too. I would be proud to serve this to company or for the holidays. THANKS AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
LOVE IT! Husband could not stop raving about how good it was. Anything with bacon makes it better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I used onion powder, dried basil and sage, and minced garlic instead of the leaves and cloves and pearl onions, but this turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
The family loved it! The pork was very tender and flavorful. Goes great with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very tastey and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States