Herb, Garlic and Bacon Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Superb flavor! I brined my pork using the Basic Brine recipe on this website. It really helps the pork stay moist and tender since so much of today's pork is too lean. I pulled my roast out at 145, let rest under foil until 160. I used the broiler to crisp the bacon the last 5 minutes of cooking time. I added 1 cup of wine, 1 tablespoon cold butter to the pan juices, simmering for 10-15 minutes while the roast rested for a quick pan sauce to serve over the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I seared the pork before I baked it, to keep the moisture in the meat. I put enough bacon to completely cover the pork, and cooked it exactly as the recipe said to. The bacon never got crispy, but added good flavor. Make sure you use a meat thermometer, they say if its over 150 degrees it's done, but I like to make sure it's at 160 degrees. I did occasionally baste the meat too. Overall I thought this recipe was a hit. The meat had excellent flavor, and it was moist. I did however feel that there was a bit too much Rosemary. Maybe it would be better to crush the Rosemary and use less of it. My local grocery store did not have pearl Onions, so I used a sweet onion instead, still tasted great!!! We greatly enjoyed this recipe, Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I substituted dried herbs for the fresh; my kitchen isn't gourmet enough to have fresh herbs laying around :) I also used half the liquid because I didn't want gravy, and it still turned out good, probably would be fine without liquid all together--maybe next time I'll try that. Excellent herb flavor, although for me, a bit heavy on the rosemary. I used the broiler at the end to crisp up the bacon and it was the best part! Thanks for the recipe, Wanda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
WOW! This was wonderful. I made a 2 lb roast and reduced the cooking time, and also followed other reviewers suggestions about reducing the rosemary, adding extra garlic, and broiling the tops to get the bacon crispy. The result was a tender, juicy, flavorful pork loin that went great with mashed potatoes and gravy with the drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I used the hints from other reviewers and this roast found it's regulary place on my menue. I brine the meat (just soak it in salt water for a few hours, drain and wash salt water off), otherwise it gets a bit dry. I also use only dry herbs since we don't have fresh available. Reduce the liquid by almost half - it is still plenty unless you make gravy with it and like your meat drowning. Bake coverd until meat temperature is around 145, then broil until the bacon is crisp. Very very tasty meat with the herbs, only the onions are sometimes a bit difficult to sell but I love them and don't mind to eat them alone ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This was a great recipe, I doubled it for a party because most pork loins come in about 10 pound packages anyway. As a side dish after I made it. I drained the broth that it made, took off the oil that it produced and discarded it and cut up potatoes and poured the broth over the potatoes and roasted them in the oven. you could put the potatoes in with the roasts after you remove the foil, but their is a lot of oil from the bacon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Batesville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
My Husband LOVED this! I added potatoes & carrots last 30 minutes. I also used fresh herbs, as I had on hand, which is how I found this recipe to begin with. I was looking for a recipe I could use the fresh herbs with before they went bad. I used shallots instead of pearl onions. Again, what I had in fridge. Will definately makke this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillie64

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This was delicious... I will make this over and over. And it smelled great while it was cooking. I also used dry spices, I didn't have any fresh:( Next time I will add more chicken stock and less rosemary, I changed the servings to 2, so maybe that is why I will need more chicken stock. Anyway, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
The bacon was the final touch this dish needed to be so yummy. I used my meat injector to inject some of the liquid with seasonings and garlic cloves to make the meat even more flavorful. We barely had any leftovers and thats saying alot when we used a big 6 lb pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
PERFECT in every way! I only had dried herbs and it was still amazing! I only needed about 2 cups chicken stock, 10 slices bacon, 1/2 Tbsp. dried rosemary, 1/2 Tbsp dried oregano, 1 Tbsp. dried thyme, 1 Tbsp dried basil, 1/2 Tbsp. dried sage and 1 Tbsp. minced garlic from a jar. I froze about 1/2 of it and it tasted great reheated too. I did brush it w/2 Tbsp of olive oil and seared it first, and then rubbed the herbs on the roast instead of mixing them w/the chicken stock. Then I draped the 10 slices of low sodium bacon horizontally over the roast. I used 3 baseball size sweet onions instead of pearl onions, and didn't add them until probably the last 30 minutes. The timing on this recipe was perfect for me as well. It was about 145 or 150 degrees when I pulled it out and rested it under a loose tent of aluminum foil until it reached 160 degrees (about 10 minutes). I had to put the onions back in to cook more while the meat rested. To the pan juices and onions, I added 1 cup of riesling wine, 1 tbsp cold butter and simmered it on the stove for about 15-20 minutes. It was an amazing sauce to pour over the roast and saved well for leftovers too. I would be proud to serve this to company or for the holidays. THANKS AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States