Herb, Garlic and Bacon Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Tasty and tender! I made this for company and they loved it. I used dried thyme but substituted oregano for the rosemary. I added extra basil leaves instead of sage. I also replaced the pearl onions with quartered red onion and used beef broth rather than chicken. I know I made a lot of changes but it was what I had on hand and really I think its the bacon that makes this so great anyway. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rock Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Delicious! Great Recipe. I don't see the need for 3 full cups of chicken broth. 2 might be better. This was so good! I brined and browned it as suggested by other reviews. It was soft and moist! I cooked mine for and hour and 1/2 at 350.It was great! Used Turkey Bacon and it didn't really taste great after being all herby... overall I'd give this a 10. Love the use of herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpgFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I took this recipe and modified it to make a stew out of it. I used 2 pork loin chops, trimmed the fat off, cubed and fried it. I also fried the bacon and drained off the fat. I added green beans and cubed potatoes and boiled the stew until the potatoes were done. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Good recipe and easy to do - very tender and moist. Made it just the way it was written and even my kids liked it. I didn't have time to crisp the bacon under the broiler but will try it next time. I'd never roasted a pork loin before but this was easy and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This was a good recipe. I did tweak it some. I made slits in the pork and put the herbs, garlic and oil on it and then wrapped the bacon over that and then I let it sit in chicken broth for a few hours before I cooked. I also substituted a vidalia onion for the pearl onions. After it baked it turned out good. I didn't get to eat as much as I would have liked because my 15-month old had three servings! The meat was SO tender, it was amazing and the broth with the onions tasted so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie O.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I made this exactly as the recipe said and it turned out great. It even got a good review from my 15yr old picky eater daughter so it must be good! I think next time I will try what others are saying and broil it at the end to crisp up the bacon a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Great receipe. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Disappointing. Not nearly as flavorful as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This recipe is a family favorite. My husband said that it was the best pork loin he had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tupper Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne Beers
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
The first time I made this dish I added lots of vegetables.If you do,remember to up the temp or the time or both.I recommend using a meat thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Beers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herb, Garlic, and Bacon Pork Loin

Double up the pork in this bacon-wrapped pork roast.

Herb Roasted Pork

See how to make sage-rubbed roasted pork with a tangy glaze.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States