Herb Garlic Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Overall, very good. I cut the recipe in half and partially microwaved the potatoes to cut down on cooking time. I upped the garlic a bit and added a little kosher salt to the mix. I love the pairing of fresh rosemary and thyme. These were very good, especially when served with "Grilled Delmonico Steaks" from this site. I think next time though in order to get more of the garlic and herb flavor to come through I might use a foil pan and cube the potatoes then toss them with the olive oil, garlic, herbs and kosher salt and then cook them on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Skins got too burned on the grill (and I love to eat the skins). I do them in the oven - 400 degrees for the same time as the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Since my husband bowls on Friday nights & I wasn't feeling all that great (cold) I made these last night to go with our Valentines steak dinner. They were pretty good, I made them in the microwave (I love my microwave, it has a baked potato button & they "bake" perfect) so I sprayed them with pam cooking spray (instead of the oil) and wrapped them with the other ingredients in waxed paper. The rosemary was very distinct, so I may cut it in 1/2 next time. Thanks Rick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
This really wakes up a baked potato. I followed the recipe, except I left out the thyme. The rosemary infused its flavor throughout the potato. The olive oil, garlic, pepper and salt added their flavors also. This is really good. I will be making this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
The flavor of the herbs only flavors the skin but we like the skin. I pre-cooked the potatoes in the microwave because they were really big - double wrapped in heavy foil with the garlic and herbs. This is a nice recipe for summer time grilling. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
If you bake these in the oven, rubbed with EVOO and the spices and wrap, these make a GREAT base potato for Potato Soup. Just cool slightly and cut each potato into eighths and continue with your soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Too much rosemary for my taste but otherwise the herbs made a flavorful potato. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I loved this but for only 2 people I used dryed Rosemary and Thyme with fresh garlic. I poked holes in the potatos and cut then in half to cook faster. It was a hit thank you. Janiec
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
It was a little bland and needed some extra spice added to up the flavor. I didn't have rosemary, but added some thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I've made this recipe a number of times, and keep coming back to it. I use only fresh herbs, double the garlic and make sure there are lots of holes poked in the potato with a fork before adding the olive oil. We use a gas barbeque - and the potates take about 40 minutes on medium-high. Thanks for the recipe Rick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States