Herb Garlic Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Overall, very good. I cut the recipe in half and partially microwaved the potatoes to cut down on cooking time. I upped the garlic a bit and added a little kosher salt to the mix. I love the pairing of fresh rosemary and thyme. These were very good, especially when served with "Grilled Delmonico Steaks" from this site. I think next time though in order to get more of the garlic and herb flavor to come through I might use a foil pan and cube the potatoes then toss them with the olive oil, garlic, herbs and kosher salt and then cook them on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Skins got too burned on the grill (and I love to eat the skins). I do them in the oven - 400 degrees for the same time as the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Since my husband bowls on Friday nights & I wasn't feeling all that great (cold) I made these last night to go with our Valentines steak dinner. They were pretty good, I made them in the microwave (I love my microwave, it has a baked potato button & they "bake" perfect) so I sprayed them with pam cooking spray (instead of the oil) and wrapped them with the other ingredients in waxed paper. The rosemary was very distinct, so I may cut it in 1/2 next time. Thanks Rick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
This really wakes up a baked potato. I followed the recipe, except I left out the thyme. The rosemary infused its flavor throughout the potato. The olive oil, garlic, pepper and salt added their flavors also. This is really good. I will be making this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
The flavor of the herbs only flavors the skin but we like the skin. I pre-cooked the potatoes in the microwave because they were really big - double wrapped in heavy foil with the garlic and herbs. This is a nice recipe for summer time grilling. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
If you bake these in the oven, rubbed with EVOO and the spices and wrap, these make a GREAT base potato for Potato Soup. Just cool slightly and cut each potato into eighths and continue with your soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Too much rosemary for my taste but otherwise the herbs made a flavorful potato. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I loved this but for only 2 people I used dryed Rosemary and Thyme with fresh garlic. I poked holes in the potatos and cut then in half to cook faster. It was a hit thank you. Janiec
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
It was a little bland and needed some extra spice added to up the flavor. I didn't have rosemary, but added some thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I've made this recipe a number of times, and keep coming back to it. I use only fresh herbs, double the garlic and make sure there are lots of holes poked in the potato with a fork before adding the olive oil. We use a gas barbeque - and the potates take about 40 minutes on medium-high. Thanks for the recipe Rick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States