Herb Crusted Halibut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I frequently prepare fish with this method – because I love it. And I frequently eat halibut, both out and preparing it myself – because I love it. (Get your fresh halibut now! The new season has just begun!) So I knew this recipe would be a sure thing, not likely to disappoint us. And it didn’t. It is a true gem and I know I will return to it often; not something I generally say about ANY recipe. After drying the filets I rubbed them lightly with olive oil, then salted and peppered them. I did not add salt to the topping, nor did I measure the olive oil, just added enough so the panko crumbs were lightly coated. Duncan, you have outdone yourself. This is a fresh tasting dish that allows the flavor of the beautiful halibut to shine. No heavy seasonings, no heavy, rich sauce. Excellent, especially served with a wild rice pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This recipe turned out great. I used cod because that is what I had on hand. I also used dry herbs because I did not have fresh herbs. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne Welsh
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly except for subbing green onions for the chives. I was surprised at how mild the fresh dill is! I've only used dried before. We also liked the lemon zest in this. The cooking directions are right on target! My only suggestion would be to start with only half the salt and taste it for seasoning. It was way too salty for us. Thanks for a new variation of cooking halibut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Welsh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was light and super moist--I think it's important to rub in some olive oil before the panko to keep it from drying out. I also broiled it for about 30 seconds right before serving for an extra cripsy topping. I just used dried herbs, whatever I had on hand, and eyeballed the measurements. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I used basa filets. I had some panko bread crumbs and was looking for recipes to try them with. This recipe was fine but won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Delicious.I did not have chives and that was fine. I squeezed in a bit of fresh lemon juice. Otherwise I followed the recipe. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Extremely delicious! I didn't do anything different. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This recipe was excellent! All of the spices blended together perfectly. I kept my Halibut in the oven for an extra 10 minutes for a more well done fish, but changed nothing else. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I did myself and family will have it again as we were very surprised that such a simple recipe tasted so good. Thank you. I would advised anyone that likes fish to try it again thank you. Papa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
The teenage boys & the spouse love this and it is a great way to use the 200+ pounds of halibut we brought back from Alaska. Grow the herbs easily in your garden. I bake it 5-10 minutes more than the recipe says. Maybe our halibut filets are extra thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States