Herb Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Oh my... this was simply THE BEST. I prepared it and topped my salmon with it in the last 15 minutes of cooking. It was really good and I received many compliments. The taste is such that it can be prepared to wow guests at any special occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This butter was FANTASTIC just as it was! One mention, I only had curly leaf parsley on hand, it worked but had a lot of texture - flat leaf would be much better if you have it. Also, we used the left over putter and put a pat over some steaks we broiled (too cold to grill outside) and they were definitely restaurant quality. I will definitely be making this again and exploring with using it over fish and chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I used marjoram to replace half of the italian seasoning and also added a few chives... excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I have used this wonderful herb butter for several years on turkey breast, whole on the bone and boneless as well. Lift the skin and slather it all over, then replace the skin and toothpick in place if necessary. For the netted breast, turn the net back halfway, slather the butter inside and out, then replace the net and repeat for the opposite end. For either, rub the remaining butter on the surface and roast as usual. Makes a delicious, moist white meat perfect for slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This was really great to go with our corn on the cob. I added a tiny bit of cayenne and some chives to jazz it up a little. This is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I also subsituted 3/4 tsp. dry garlic in a pinch (out of fresh) and that works too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Also known as Maitre d'Hotel Butter or compound butter, this is immensely flavorful and versatile. Serve with vegetables, artisan breads, crackers, fish, steak or chops. It can be flavored in any number of ways, varying the herbs and preferably using fresh. I have also flavored this with sun dried tomatoes, whirling in a food processor until creamy smooth and rosy pink. On this occasion I chose fresh parsley, garlic and a little lemon juice, formed it into a cylinder and rolled it in foil and have stored it in the fridge. I plan to pan roast fish, then top it with slices of this beautiful, fragrant butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I made this at the last minute, so I didn't have any parsley, but it still turned out delicious! I used unsalted butter, so I added some salt and that definitely brought out the flavors. Everyone at the dinner party loved it! It was great on bread or even on plain pasta. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
To try this out I scaled the recipe back to just 4 servings. Instead of the Italian seasoning I used fresh oregano, thyme and chives from the garden and instead of the crushed red pepper flakes I used cayenne. The first night we had this at room temperature slathered on a nice artisan bread warm from the oven. It was ok, but I wasn't that crazy about it. Well, the next night I spread it on one side of sliced focaccia bread and sprinkled it with freshly grated parmesan. Baked this for maybe 10 minutes and then slipped it under the broiler. WOW! It was wonderful. I could have eaten a whole loaf of this stuff. Fortunately for my waistline I only made two slices, one for hubby and one for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Great spread on french bread and broiled on hi for 3 min. Also very good mixed in with jasmine rice. Will become a staple for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States