Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Fluffy
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
A good bread, better the next day toasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Served this with dinner just a few minutes after it finished baking, and we ate it all up! Had a slice later, after it had cooled to room temp, and it was still good but not as good as it was while still steaming. Followed the recipe, except I didn't have any celery seed on hand so that got left out. Added about 1/4 teaspoon Italian Seasoning blend. Very aromatic, wonderful smelling & tasting bread. Served this with spaghetti & meatballs and they went together perfectly. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was excellent! I accidentally doubled the Sage, but other than that, followed directions exactly, and it turned out beautifully. It's my first homemade bread and my family absolutely loved it. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Planned to have this the same day but had it the next - kind of dry, pretty good flavor but not great - I may try next time to make by hand and not in the bread machine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was so delicious, absolutely loved it! we made them into rolls - just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I liked this recipe. I had to make one change because I didn't have any celery seed. It tastes great without it, but next time I will give it a try. This bread does remind me of the Rosemary bread, which is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This bread is very good. I did heaping tablespoons or teaspoons of the spices, and I can taste them nicely. I love the taste of clery seed and it is very prominent in this bread--so make sure you like it if you try it! I used my bread machine to make the dough, and I think it needed about 1/8 c more flour--bit it was raining here, so that would do it. I baked in the oven at 375 for about 50-55 minutes. Turned out nice and golden brown yet still soft enough for sandwiches and flavorful toast. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Years ago I first made this bread the first time I made Beefy Mushroom Barley Soup. Have always made them together since, probably cuz there were so many happy noises going around the table. The soup is one of dd's favorites but this last time she went back for another slice of bread instead of more soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Really tasty, but just a little dry -- I'll add another teaspoon or two of water next time. Subbed coriander and caraway seed for sage and celery seed, and a healthy amount (maybe 2t?) of garlic powder. Didn't measure any of the spices, but it takes a lot to really flavor bread so I did err on the generous side. Next time I think I'll try rosemary and tarragon or maybe basil....this is a really fun recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
this smells wonderful in the bread machine but i foulnd it dry and not as flavorful as i expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States