Herald's Impossibly Easy Cheeseburger Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
I give this 5 stars only because of my addition. I have made this before, and not been impressed with it. But I added 1 drained can of Rotel Original (tomatoes and chilies. It added just the "kick" this recipe needs! My husband and I pratically inhaled it, it was so good! Hahahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLYNN6841

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I had a very similar recipe years ago that I lost. I was excited to find this one again because the family always liked it so much. This recipe is simple and quick. I did make a few changes. Left out the tomatoes, no one likes them at our house. I also added a couple of teaspoons of prepared mustard to the topping. My old recipe had it, and I thought it added a little extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Never made an “impossible pie” before. I ALTERED THE BAKING (like my Betty Crocker Cookbook suggested for their Impossible Cheeseburger Pie) … I had about 2 lbs. good ground beef, so I increased the whole recipe to fit a buttered 9 x 13” pan. First, I separately lightly salted and sautéed my small chopped onion in a little butter until nicely golden, added that to the already browned, drained ground beef (I did not ‘mash’ the ground beef very fine; wanted some chunks!), light salt/pepper (NO garlic, nor oregano). Because of my larger pan, I used 1 cup Bisquick, 4 eggs, 2 cups nonfat milk [30 seconds in the blender], baked 25 minutes; THEN, added a thinly sliced large tomato to cover the top, and topped it all off with plenty of my hand-shredded Colby-jack cheese, baked again for about 8-10 minutes more (still at 400 degrees); Then let it set for 10 minutes, cut into large squares and served. DH and I both really liked this and would make it exactly the same next time and the simplicity of the ingredients made it just perfect. The leftovers heated well in the microwave. This will be great for fussy nieces/nephews or any potluck/company, served with a salad. This looks very nice with the fresh tomato and cheese, and served large squares directly from my pretty red 9 x 13” pan. Yum, will make this recipe again. The “cheeseburger” idea really works with this simple casserole. Herald, gotta love ya! ~ Thanks.~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This was a very popular dinner in my house last night! The only change I made was using a can of drained, diced Italian style tomatoes mixed into the ground beef/onion mixture instead of using a fresh sliced tomato. I also added a little crumbled bacon on top, with the cheese, to make it Bacon CheeseBurger Pie. People wanted seconds and so I'm adding this one to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
My family loved this, but I did make some changes to the recipe. I used a can of tomatoes/chiles as suggested by another cook, and added some hot sauce and chili powder to the meat mixture. I also added 1/2 can of corn to the meat. For the topping, I used a box of Jiffy corn muffin mix, prepared according to the directions on the box, and added the other 1/2 can of corn to this. I sprinkled some extra cheese on top, and baked. The sweetness of the cornbread topping really complemented the slightly spicy meat, and my whole family loved it. It was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Flavorless, no spice or zing to it at all. Me and mr friend, upon serving up dinner, instantly started thinking of things to do to improve this - NEVER a good sign. * I'd stir the spices into the meat. * Use Mexican Oregano instead of just standard Oregano. * Either increase the Bisquick power by half again or cut the milk. The topping was *WAY* too runny. And that was just off the top of my head.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was tasty and easy to make. I used regular bisquick as I couldn't find buttermilk, and it was fine. I think I'll also add Worcestershire sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2000
The first time I made this recipe, my husband said, " Oh wow! Is that a quiche?". It is so easy to make! The second time I made it I added French's Fried Onions. It made a wonderful addition!! I have also altered the recipe for a change with some ham and broccoli. It is a nice base recipe for lots of other ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I love these impossible pies. They're so easy and fairly quick to get into the oven. We're not spice loving people so we thoroughly enjoyed this! I booboo'ed and put the Bisquick mix in before the cheese. The cheese wound up going on last but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I use a recipe very much like this, but found if I decrease the milk by half, I get a much fluffier casserole. Very easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitezwz@verizon.net

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States