Herald's Impossibly Easy Cheeseburger Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I use to make Betty Crocker's impossibly easy cheeseburger pie. I found this and decided to make changes for when my kids aren't around (they like the original). I used mushrooms instead of tomatoes and used pepper jack cheese instead of cheddar! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Added italian seasoning and a zucchini, teaspoon of ginger in place of the black pepper. No tomato or pepper as we are nightshade free. Tripled the egg mix, used flour instead of bisquick. Only one 12oz sleeve of meat, but added 12 oz of mixed veggies. I had shredded colby jack, so I used it. 2 onions. The fam really liked it. A good recipe to use up leftovers with. I love it with mushrooms instead of meat for a veggie night in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I actually really liked it! I'm new to cooking so I loved how simple it was. My boyfriend and I both loved it! I used ground oregano instead of oregano leaves and it was a little too strong but it seems like a simple fix. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Very quick and easy recipe which, just like a regular cheeseburger, everyone has their own way to dress up! For our family, we love mushrooms, so I included them in the mixture of meat and onions. I poured in a can of drained diced tomatoes. I added a couple dashes of Worcestershire sauce that gave it a nice kick and saved it from tasting too bland. My 3 guys inhaled it so next time I'll double it in a 9 x 13 pan so we have some leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Fast, easy & good! It's no big deal to spice it up a notch with whatever you like best. The next time I make this, I will try a few of the other reviewers suggestions. Maybe tomatoes with chilies, more spices, a little frozen corn, a few black beans and maybe even try the cornbread topping. This is a great recipe when you really aren't in the mood for spending a lot of time in the kitchen ... just serve a little salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
OK, let me get right to the point. This was not what I was expecting AT ALL! Having said this, my neighbor and husband didn't find this to be as awful as I did (I think their expectations differed from mine). As many reviewers suggest, the batter is quite runny. I think that's where this went terribly wrong for me. Even after baking for the suggested 25 minutes, my pie was not cooked thru. Unfortunately, I didn't realize this until it had set for 10 minutes and I cut the first piece. :( The top tested done, but the batter that seeped thru the meat layer was gooey (yuck!). Another 15 minutes in the oven did NOTHING to solve the problem! Maybe this is characteristic of an "impossible" pie, but it was completely off-putting IMO. Hopefully this will work for you, but it was a total disappointment for me. Thanks anyways, Herald.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I followed some other reviewers' suggestions and cut back the milk a bit and added a drained can tomatoes and green chilis instead of the sliced tomato. I also doubled the garlic salt and halved the pepper. Skipped the oregano altogether. We LOVED it! It was easy and delicious! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPRINGMEOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Never made an “impossible pie” before. I ALTERED THE BAKING (like my Betty Crocker Cookbook suggested for their Impossible Cheeseburger Pie) … I had about 2 lbs. good ground beef, so I increased the whole recipe to fit a buttered 9 x 13” pan. First, I separately lightly salted and sautéed my small chopped onion in a little butter until nicely golden, added that to the already browned, drained ground beef (I did not ‘mash’ the ground beef very fine; wanted some chunks!), light salt/pepper (NO garlic, nor oregano). Because of my larger pan, I used 1 cup Bisquick, 4 eggs, 2 cups nonfat milk [30 seconds in the blender], baked 25 minutes; THEN, added a thinly sliced large tomato to cover the top, and topped it all off with plenty of my hand-shredded Colby-jack cheese, baked again for about 8-10 minutes more (still at 400 degrees); Then let it set for 10 minutes, cut into large squares and served. DH and I both really liked this and would make it exactly the same next time and the simplicity of the ingredients made it just perfect. The leftovers heated well in the microwave. This will be great for fussy nieces/nephews or any potluck/company, served with a salad. This looks very nice with the fresh tomato and cheese, and served large squares directly from my pretty red 9 x 13” pan. Yum, will make this recipe again. The “cheeseburger” idea really works with this simple casserole. Herald, gotta love ya! ~ Thanks.~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I love these impossible pies. They're so easy and fairly quick to get into the oven. We're not spice loving people so we thoroughly enjoyed this! I booboo'ed and put the Bisquick mix in before the cheese. The cheese wound up going on last but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Excellent cheeseburger pie. Takes a little longer than the traditional Bisquick recipe but it's worth it. The oregano and the tomatoes (thin slices worked great) are a nice departure from the standard recipe. The tomatoes definitely help keep the pie moist. My teen boys and their friends love it. I'll have to start making a double batch from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States