Henry and Maudie's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
These cookies are AMAZING! I was a little skeptical at first of how well they would turn out, because it seemed like hoping for such a healthy cookie to taste good would be too much to ask. But my skepticism didn't last long! These cookies disappeared just a fast as I made them! I did personalize the recipe a bit; I added 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts, 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips, and 1/2 cup of raisins. This is the ultimate oatmeal cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I really liked these cookies. With the Whole Wheat flour and Oatmeal I feel better about the kids eating them. They turned out great, the perfect cookie, chewy and not flat. I did add Chocolet Chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This is the only oatmeal cookie recipe I use. As I do with any cookie recipe, I half the amount of sugar. A delightful cookie! Thanks to the submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I made these the other night and they came out very chewy, just the way my family likes them. I added cinammon to the batter and chocolate chips to half of the batter for my daughter and raisins in the other half for my son. I recommend this recipe for anybody who wants to add more complex carbos. to their diet. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
excelent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
Thanks for this nutritious recipe! I used a sugar substitute for 1/3 of the brown sugar, and it was good. If you want to add extras like chips, nuts, or raisins, I'd either add an egg or cut down some of the dry ingredients to help them stick together when you're dropping them on the cookie sheet. I loved the taste of whole wheat flour in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
I love these cookies! I cut the sugar in half and they were still plenty sweet. I didn't add raisins, next time I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Great recipe! I always throw in chopped walnuts, raisins, crushed pineapple, applesauce, chocolate chips and an extra egg. They turn out PERFECT--chewy and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
These are at least as good as the recipe on the oatmeal canister, and even better for you because of the whole wheat flour. I reduced the brown sugar to 1 cup and added an extra egg white and some cinnamon and nutmeg. I also substituted 1/4 cup of the butter with peanut butter, and added choc.chips to half the dough, and raisins to the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
These cookies are the best! I followed the recipe exactly and added about 34 cup raisins, and my husband, whose favorite cookies are oatmeal raisin, raved. Not too sweet, but you could probably safely reduce the brown sugar to 1 or 14 cup. Thanks very much, Henry and Maudie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANNAJAYNE

Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States