Henry and Maudie's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Really good recipe! I used half butter & half applesauce, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup Splenda & cut down on the oats. I also omitted the water since I saw no need for it. I got about 30 from this. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by B Spradley
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
These are great cookies, i have made the multiple times over this past winter. I keep a tupperware of cookie dough balls in the freezer so I can pop a couple in the oven whenever we feel like fresh warm cookies. The key to make sure they don't get dry is to watch your baking time. Take them out just before they look done. They continue to cook slightly on the pan as they cool. Yum, they are always a little crisp on the outside and chewy inside, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Spradley
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This is the only oatmeal cookie recipe I use. As I do with any cookie recipe, I half the amount of sugar. A delightful cookie! Thanks to the submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and they are the best I have ever had. I made giant dough balls for very big cookies. Don't over bake. In the future i may try to play with the amount of sugar and try using applesauce instead of butter just to make it even more healthy. But if that does not work I'll be using it as is. Thanks for a great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
I made these the other night and they came out very chewy, just the way my family likes them. I added cinammon to the batter and chocolate chips to half of the batter for my daughter and raisins in the other half for my son. I recommend this recipe for anybody who wants to add more complex carbos. to their diet. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PPERRY0501
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I made these for DH. Like others, he said they were a little dry, but he still really liked them, and was suprised when I told him they were made with whole wheat flour. I quartered this recipe since I wasn't sure how they would turn out, and I added a few dashes of cinnamon, as well as a dash of nutmeg, and raisins until it looked like there were enough! I would make this again, but would add either an extra egg or some applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PPERRY0501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I added a mix of dried cherries, dried cranberries and raisins. Actually thought they tasted better the next day. Baked 2 trays on Release foil and 2 trays using baking spray with flour in it - both worked, no problems with cookies sticking to the sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I made these with dried blueberries instead of raisins (thats all I had) and they came out great! My family really enjoyed them. Nobody knew they were whole wheat until I said so. Also, they freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I really liked these cookies. With the Whole Wheat flour and Oatmeal I feel better about the kids eating them. They turned out great, the perfect cookie, chewy and not flat. I did add Chocolet Chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I was looking for a recipe using whole wheat flour and these were great. I couldn't tell the difference from my usual oatmeal cookie recipe. I did add 1 cup of raisins because we love them and also 1 tsp of cinnamon. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States