Henry and Maudie's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Perfect!! This is a great recipe, the only way I am making cookies from now on! My entire family LOVED them. I used chocolate chips with this recipe. Next time I am going to try dried cranberries. I'm passing this recipe on to friends and family! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucidAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Wonderful Cookies - I added cinnamon. Not too sweet and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and they are the best I have ever had. I made giant dough balls for very big cookies. Don't over bake. In the future i may try to play with the amount of sugar and try using applesauce instead of butter just to make it even more healthy. But if that does not work I'll be using it as is. Thanks for a great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I took the advice of other reviewers and cut back sugar. Wish I would have also cut back water because after a day of being in a container, these became very soggy. I agree with the others who said there are better oatmeal cookie recipes and I too do not understand how you get 60 cookies from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miccycle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
My niece is extremely picky when it comes to anything semi-healthy. When I made these, she couldn't eat them fast enough! Moist, delicious, and healthy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
These cookies were wonderful. I did take the advice of another viewer and instead of using all butter, I used half applesauce. I also cut back on the brown sugar, I think they would have been too sweet, so I used 1/2 of brown sugar and 1/2 raw sugar. I added raisins and they were great. My family loved these, and you can't even tell that they are made with whole wheat flour. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I made some changes to the recipe. I used applesauce instead of margarine. I also used 3/4 c splenda and 3/4 c brown sugar. Finally I added raisins. This recipe is very oat-y in texture. I think next time I will cut back on the oats and add more flour. Also, using a cookie scoop I got 42 cookies from this recipe and they are not big at all...not sure how you would get 60.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Great cookies you don't have to feel guilty about! I found the sifting tedious and it removed the wheat germ, so I just stirred this back in at the end for the fiber. I added chocolate chips and walnuts and it was a big hit. I even burned one batch and it was still good. But if you bake them correctly, they come out slightly chewy and just fabulous. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I halved the recipe, added a 1/4 C. of unsweetened apple sauce and reduced the butter by 1 Tbsp. I stirred in Craisins and semisweet chocolate chips at the end. Don't overbake these...just until you see a slight golden brown on the edges. Let them cool, before handling them and you'll have a perfectly chewey cookie! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senushi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Pretty good, my hubby liked them. But I think I will try a few more recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jereca74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States