Henry and Maudie's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I've tried a lot of whole wheat cookie recipes, and this is by far my favorite. I've made it countless times. Everyone always loves them. I'll usually add 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, and double the salt for a sweet and salty cookie. Also, take them out of the oven at 12 minutes so they don't dry out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I have a grain mill that makes fresh whole wheat flour so I've made many a whole grain items. This wasn't my favorite. It was dry, and the first batch fell apart. The other batches seemed to stay together better after sitting a while as dough. I added chocolate chips when I figured out how bland this cookie was going to be. Still, they are a healthier choice as far as cookies go and my husband and 4 year old seemed to like them just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
My new favorite cookie!!!! I mad some modifications. I add 3 tb of natural peanut butter, toasted pecans and 1 cup of chocolate chips and use milk instead of water. AWESOME! Sometimes I have to add a little extra flour to keep the cookies puffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Finally! I had been looking for a basic oatmeal cookie recipe. These almost have a granola taste to them. Whole wheat flour and 1/4 less butter than most oatmeal cookie recipes make these a little better for you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Finally, I now know how to bake my favorite oatmeal cookie!!! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. These are YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Like the posting previous to mine I used 1/2 cup smart balance butter & 1/4 cup applesauce & egg sub, I left out the water this time & added Cherry flavored craisins & white chocolate chips. This is a awesome basic cookie recipe. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
These are very good! I made a few modifications to make them a litte healthier (used about 3/4 c. brown sugar and 1/2 c. splenda, used 1/2 cup Smart Balance 50/50 butter blend and 1/4 c. applesauce and used 1/3 c. egg white instead of an egg). Then I counteracted those healthier options by adding 1/2 a bag of chocolate chips! :) I made about 32 small cookies and baked them 12 minutes per batch. I shaped them into balls and flattened them by hand to get a nice smoothly shaped cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Excellent - I'm eating them as I type! I may try less sugar next time for more of a chewy granola bar taste. I like that they're hearty and not cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenNoodle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
We love love love this recipe! Everytime I make them I forget to add the water, but it makes no difference, and also the only thing I do different is we add about 3/4c dark chocolate chips, and I make them smaller, so that we get about 85 or so bite size cookies...5 out of 5 all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
these were great! best oatmeal cookies i've made yet! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States