Henke's Hunter's Venison Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Loved this! the only thing i changed was to use diced garlic instead of powder. THe key ingredient to this dish is the wine;it tenderizes the venison. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAHSMOMX3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
nice sauce for deer tenderloins. Very tasty and it did not overpower the meat with too many additional flavours. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This recipe is awesome. I always run out of ways to cook venison, which is why I chose this and I'm glad I did. I had to change a few minor things just for lack of ingredients in the household. First, I used about 1/2 a yellow onion instead of the green onion and onion powder. Instead of beef broth, I used a little more than two cups of water, along with 3 beef boullion cubes. I also added 4 cloves of minced garlic when browning the venison. It was perfect with mashed potatoes. In case you don't have white wine, a dry red would work also, just with different results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was sooo good! Thank you for sharing. I will use this one again. It will be a great recipe to make when we have guests that say they don't like venison. I can't imagine anyone not liking this! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I had never cooked venison before, and was not sure if I would even like it, but this recipe was awesome! I didn't simmer it for nearly as long as it suggested, and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I've cooking venison for years. This is a tasty recipe and a keeper. Good enough for company. I just thicken up the sauce before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lakelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
My husband loves this recipe! I substituted fresh garlic for dried and dried parsley for fresh. I also used sherry instead of dry white wine. It turned out great. Thanks for the new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
What a wonderful change from our usual fried venison. After we made this we gave the recipe to three different hunters in the family. It was absolutly fabulous. I added a little corn starch to thicken and served with some garlic mashed potatoes, yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okeechobee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I am NOT the biggest fan of venison, it's too gamey for my tastes, but this was very tasty! I had to use what I had in the house, so I used beef bouillion and water instead of beef broth and canned mushrooms instead of fresh. I had some leftover venison tenderloin and added enough venison butterfly steaks from the freezer to make a pound. I kept the amounts of everything else the same and simmered on the stove for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. I thickened the extra sauce make a yummy gravy and served it over brown rice. Very tender! This recipe definitely is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I changed the recipe a little bit. I took all of the ingredients called for and stuffed it in a crock pot. I turned it on low for the day. I did put regular garlic instead of the powder, and I added a little wine and broth since I was leaving it in the crock pot all day. It was good. It reminded me of pot roast a little bit. I served over potatos. Next time I am going to serve over wild rice as suggeseted by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States