Henke's Hunter's Venison Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
My husband loves this recipe! I substituted fresh garlic for dried and dried parsley for fresh. I also used sherry instead of dry white wine. It turned out great. Thanks for the new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I've cooking venison for years. This is a tasty recipe and a keeper. Good enough for company. I just thicken up the sauce before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lakelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I changed the recipe a little bit. I took all of the ingredients called for and stuffed it in a crock pot. I turned it on low for the day. I did put regular garlic instead of the powder, and I added a little wine and broth since I was leaving it in the crock pot all day. It was good. It reminded me of pot roast a little bit. I served over potatos. Next time I am going to serve over wild rice as suggeseted by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
nice sauce for deer tenderloins. Very tasty and it did not overpower the meat with too many additional flavours. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I had never cooked venison before, and was not sure if I would even like it, but this recipe was awesome! I didn't simmer it for nearly as long as it suggested, and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This turns out almost like venison stew and I've gotten similar results with a lot less work. We used several different kinds of mushrooms which made it more interesting. Used Jacob's Creek Chard for the wine which was very good. We doubled the recipe and served over wild rice. Overall it was good but again, it takes more work and time than it's worth to us. I was somewhat disappointed after reading such great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Loved this! the only thing i changed was to use diced garlic instead of powder. THe key ingredient to this dish is the wine;it tenderizes the venison. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAHSMOMX3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I am NOT the biggest fan of venison, it's too gamey for my tastes, but this was very tasty! I had to use what I had in the house, so I used beef bouillion and water instead of beef broth and canned mushrooms instead of fresh. I had some leftover venison tenderloin and added enough venison butterfly steaks from the freezer to make a pound. I kept the amounts of everything else the same and simmered on the stove for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. I thickened the extra sauce make a yummy gravy and served it over brown rice. Very tender! This recipe definitely is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
What a wonderful change from our usual fried venison. After we made this we gave the recipe to three different hunters in the family. It was absolutly fabulous. I added a little corn starch to thicken and served with some garlic mashed potatoes, yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okeechobee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was sooo good! Thank you for sharing. I will use this one again. It will be a great recipe to make when we have guests that say they don't like venison. I can't imagine anyone not liking this! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

How to Make Lamb Meatballs

See how to make baked lamb meatballs simmered in a simple tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States