Hello Dolly Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was a traditional cookie we made for Christmas. My mother's recipe called for 6 oz. butterscotch chips and 6 oz. semi sweet chocolate chips instead of the 1 cup semi sweet chips in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
very good, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I did as others suggested and made a graham cracker crust. I mixed in a little condensed milk with the other dry ingredients just to get it to hold together well before cooking. I suggest 20 minutes rather than 25-30. They are tasty, but a bit overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: La Paz, La Paz, Bolivia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
These bars will fill any sweet tooth. I made some changes that added to the flavor :) I didnt have enough graham cracker crumbs and so i ended up using some stale apple cinnamon cookies crushed up because they had the same consistency as the graham cracker crumbs. I pressed the crumb crust into the pan before baking rather than mixing all of the ingredients together initially. To the top of the graham/butter mixture, i added a cinnamon sugar mix and it was amazing combined with the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I have used this recipe for years. What I do different is drizzle the butter right on the top of the graham cracker crust to hold the crust together. I think it is a must! I use pecans unstead of walnuts. Both are great. Fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is a family request each Christmas Eve. I do mix the butter and the graham crackers and press it to form the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rena
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I would definitely recommend, as others have, making the graham cracker crust and pressing it into the bottom first. Otherwise, easy, gooey, sweet, and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
A really great and easy bar cookie for those times when you need something really rich and indulgent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I love these! My mom has been making these at Christmas time all my life! My fave! However, we mix the grahm crackers with the butter and then press them into a 9x13 pan. Then layer the ingredients instead of mixing them all. First the Choco chips, nuts, coconut, and then drizzle the condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Good, but definitely holds together better if you mix butter and graham cracker crumbs together and press in dish first, then top with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States