Hello Dolly Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I love these! My mom has been making these at Christmas time all my life! My fave! However, we mix the grahm crackers with the butter and then press them into a 9x13 pan. Then layer the ingredients instead of mixing them all. First the Choco chips, nuts, coconut, and then drizzle the condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
These cookies are wonderful. You can make some variations. Use a different kind of nut(Walnut ,pecan, almond ,peanut) and the different kinds of chips(chocolate ,peanut butter, cinnamon, butterscotch ,white chocolate) and the many variations for the crust ( chocolate graham crackers, chocolate chip cookies, shortbread cookies, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
They tasted good but didn't hold together at all. Most Hello Dolly cookie recipes add the butter to the graham cracker crumbs only and then sprinkle the other ingredients on top. I've never had this problem with those cookies falling apart. We had to eat all the crumbs with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rena
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I would definitely recommend, as others have, making the graham cracker crust and pressing it into the bottom first. Otherwise, easy, gooey, sweet, and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Good, but definitely holds together better if you mix butter and graham cracker crumbs together and press in dish first, then top with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
I use a slight bit more graham crumbs and coconut to cut the richness, and sometimes I mix 1/2 c. milk chocolate chips and 1/2 c. semisweet chips. Do not skimp on the evaporated milk - the generic brands don't do these bars justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Sooo rich and good. Used an 8 x 8 pan, and fat free sweetened condensed milk--turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
So easy and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Very rich and sweet, watch the time though I kinda over cooked mine. I think five minutes less would have been better. Thanks for the recipe, Barb in BC Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
This is the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Using half chocolate and half butterscotch chips is also really good! I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States