Hello Dolly Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was a traditional cookie we made for Christmas. My mother's recipe called for 6 oz. butterscotch chips and 6 oz. semi sweet chocolate chips instead of the 1 cup semi sweet chips in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
very good, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I did as others suggested and made a graham cracker crust. I mixed in a little condensed milk with the other dry ingredients just to get it to hold together well before cooking. I suggest 20 minutes rather than 25-30. They are tasty, but a bit overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: La Paz, La Paz, Bolivia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
These bars will fill any sweet tooth. I made some changes that added to the flavor :) I didnt have enough graham cracker crumbs and so i ended up using some stale apple cinnamon cookies crushed up because they had the same consistency as the graham cracker crumbs. I pressed the crumb crust into the pan before baking rather than mixing all of the ingredients together initially. To the top of the graham/butter mixture, i added a cinnamon sugar mix and it was amazing combined with the coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I have used this recipe for years. What I do different is drizzle the butter right on the top of the graham cracker crust to hold the crust together. I think it is a must! I use pecans unstead of walnuts. Both are great. Fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is a family request each Christmas Eve. I do mix the butter and the graham crackers and press it to form the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rena
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I would definitely recommend, as others have, making the graham cracker crust and pressing it into the bottom first. Otherwise, easy, gooey, sweet, and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
A really great and easy bar cookie for those times when you need something really rich and indulgent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I love these! My mom has been making these at Christmas time all my life! My fave! However, we mix the grahm crackers with the butter and then press them into a 9x13 pan. Then layer the ingredients instead of mixing them all. First the Choco chips, nuts, coconut, and then drizzle the condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Good, but definitely holds together better if you mix butter and graham cracker crumbs together and press in dish first, then top with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States