Helga's Russian Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this recipe exactly how it was written except added 4qt stock. Excellent! I didn't know beet greens would bring it all together so nicely and add beautiful contrast to the deep rich purple color. Put a nice helping of sour cream cos the flavor explodes and a generous sprig of fresh dill to make it pop! This recipe will impress most, presentation is gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is a perfect recipe! I admit I didn't use the lamb because my husband hates it, but other than that I followed the recipe, and this is hands down the best borscht I have ever eaten. The spices and seasonings are perfect. I doubled this in order to feed all of us (2 adults, 8 kids), and ended up with only a couple quarts left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Excellent!! I had to use beef chuck because I could not find lamb in my area. Also added a diced turnip and 1/2 cup chopped celery along with the other vegetables and reduced the beef broth to two and 1/2 quarts. I also used canned tomatoes ( 16 oz can). Will make this again. It taste even better the second day after the flavors mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
First time making this and it turned out great! Will make this again for sure!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belvaben@yahoo.com

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This had a great flavor to it but I would add less broth next time. It was a little thin for my taste. I used 1 can of diced tomatoes and 1 1/2 tsp dried dill cooked into the stew because I didn't have any fresh to add after. My first time making borscht with fresh beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Amazing borscht. Made my mom mad a little bit that I one upped hers with this recipe. I substitute stew beef for the lamb, just because lamb is next to impossible to find near me, and it is still to die for. Freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
awesome dish...I made changes, but only because I didn't have the ingredients. used olive oil, and beef stew meat. also didn't use bay leaf or dill. Still was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This soup was good and easy. My staple borscht starts w/sauted cabbage, onion, scredded carrots and bacon which is added to broth with both cubed and mashed potatoes along with beets which is excellent, but more time consuming. Don't think I'll make this one again and will stick to my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I love beet soup and I thought that the lamb gave this soup a wonderful dimension. I also added a few extra ingredients: carrots, garlic and fennel seeds (added with the lamb/onions) as well as a handful of barley, a couple of diced potatoes and 2 tablespoons of honey. Yum-tastic! Thanks Helga!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Park

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Love this recipe!!! My wife is from Belarus and I would keep asking her to make Borscht, she never has time lol. Finally I took matters into my own hands and made it my self thanks for the great recipe. The only thing I changed was I didn't leave on for 2 hours only 45 mins and it was good. Taste to tell I always say,its the best part of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States