Heirloom Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
One bowl, a spoon and your ingredients is all it takes to make this cake. On top of ease of preparation, the taste and texture are perfect. Best blueberry cake I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
'Only changes are increased salt to 1t & berries to 3c - Oh, & added a t of vanilla. :) Shorecook recommended the glaze from this .... http://allrecipes.com/recipe/yummy-lemon-coconut-loaf/detail.aspx ... & it was a good idea! Incredibly easy glaze. The cake is good without it, also. 'Not too cinnamony, but enough to color it. It's light & has a slightly crispy top. 'Only issue was that it dimpled, which may be because I used frozen berries. This wasn't sticky on the unglazed part until two days after it was made. That's supposed to be a compliment. :D 'Glazed side is still "like new." Ha-ha! This is a full 9x13, quite high, not too high, or rounding over the pan; just next time, I'll halve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I am rating this 5 stars but I did not get to eat it, yet. I made it for my son to take as he travelled out of state to a friend's house. It came together so quickly and baked up beautifully and smelled great! I did add a teaspoon of vanilla. I will make very soon and try it and update the rating with taste. Thanks! UPDATE: I made it today in a bundt cake pan. It took about an hour. Delicious! I did add a tsp of vanilla and made my own buttermilk made with lactose free milk (for one son) and a TBSP fresh lemon juice. Served it to hubby tonight with vanilla ice cream (did not frost it. So easy and excellent taste). ANOTHER UPDATE: Made this for July 4th barbecue yesterday. I added 1/2 tsp of almond extract (along with the tsp of vanilla that I added) and some slivered almonds. Cooked a little over an hour in a bundt pan. YUUMM. It was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I added Craisins soaked in Drambuie to the mixture and then made a Drambuie glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francis Cruz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
It was my husband's birthday so I asked him what kind of cake would you like. He hits me with a blueberry cake...really? Never made one of those before. So I came across this recipe and decided to give it a whirl. It came out perfect. It was so good my 5 year old said he wanted this cake for his next birthday. **I will say that we do like icing in my house so I made some cream cheese icing & baked it in layers. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ImThePrincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Kinn
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Substituted almond extract for cinnamon, and added slivered almonds to a Bundt pan before pouring in the batter. The cake was wonderful; not too sweet, but a real adult pleaser! Also, I did mix the wet and dry ingredients separately (just in case) and baked at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Kinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this in a standard-size tube pan. Was done after fifty minutes. My office realy enjoyed this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made the full recipe. Lessened the sugar, skipped the cinnamon, & added lemon juice & zest, a lot, and baked it in a bundt pan. End result was my hubby of 45+ years says this is the BEST cake I've EVER made! Made it for Easter 2014, totally easy and so good! Glazed it with a lemon glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was good, but I felt like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
No creaming, no adding ingredients one by one, no alternating ingredients. Basically dump everything in a bowl and mix. How easy is that? Great cake – moist, pleasantly spiced with cinnamon, with no shortage of blueberries for sure. I made this as cupcakes, then piped each with a small rosette of lemon cream cheese frosting: 1/2 c. butter, 2 oz. softened cream cheese, 2-1/2 c. powdered sugar, some fresh lemon zest and enough milk or cream to achieve desired consistency. Very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States