Heirloom Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
It was my husband's birthday so I asked him what kind of cake would you like. He hits me with a blueberry cake...really? Never made one of those before. So I came across this recipe and decided to give it a whirl. It came out perfect. It was so good my 5 year old said he wanted this cake for his next birthday. **I will say that we do like icing in my house so I made some cream cheese icing & baked it in layers. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ImThePrincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Kinn
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Substituted almond extract for cinnamon, and added slivered almonds to a Bundt pan before pouring in the batter. The cake was wonderful; not too sweet, but a real adult pleaser! Also, I did mix the wet and dry ingredients separately (just in case) and baked at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Kinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this in a standard-size tube pan. Was done after fifty minutes. My office realy enjoyed this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made the full recipe. Lessened the sugar, skipped the cinnamon, & added lemon juice & zest, a lot, and baked it in a bundt pan. End result was my hubby of 45+ years says this is the BEST cake I've EVER made! Made it for Easter 2014, totally easy and so good! Glazed it with a lemon glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was good, but I felt like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
No creaming, no adding ingredients one by one, no alternating ingredients. Basically dump everything in a bowl and mix. How easy is that? Great cake – moist, pleasantly spiced with cinnamon, with no shortage of blueberries for sure. I made this as cupcakes, then piped each with a small rosette of lemon cream cheese frosting: 1/2 c. butter, 2 oz. softened cream cheese, 2-1/2 c. powdered sugar, some fresh lemon zest and enough milk or cream to achieve desired consistency. Very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I made as is, with the exception of adding two tablespoons of Vanilla. I think next time I would omit the cinnamon (personal preference, not a fan of cinnamon & blueberry together). I had a two year old and 5 year old helping make this and it came out perfect. Very easy to make and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Easy to make and delicious! I just reduced the quantity of sugar by 1/2 cup and poured everything in a bundt mold that's all! Exellent recipe! Will definitely pass on to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is a KEEPER! Moist,great tasting and soooo easy. I added a 1/2 tsp fresh lemon juice and it was perfect. I will make again and try it with rhubarb. Excellent! Yummy is my husband's rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was great as written; didn't find it too sweet at all. Added about half a teaspoon of strong almond flavoring and a handful of sliced almonds to the batter, then sprinkled more sliced almonds and a bit of sugar on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galley Wench

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States