Heinz® Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Best meatloaf ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I've never been a big fan of meatloaf but I LOVE this recipe! I don't care for celery and my boyfriend doesn't like onions so I just sauté green and red peppers and chopped up jalapeño peppers (for a little kick) in the ketchup sauce. I also use the whole sauce to mix in with the meat rather than just half of it, along with meat loaf seasoning. All this makes for a very flavorful and moist loaf that you don't really need to put anything on it. Another trick of mine is to use the royal Hawaiian sweet rolls for the bread crumbs. The sweetness of the rolls really compliments the spicy and saltiness. Also tried this recipe with ground turkey, tastes awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
my favorite meatloaf recipe to date!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Surprisingly good, even tho' I had my doubts about the ketchup, er, "sauce." I just couldn't do this with ketchup alone so I added a small amount of water and barbecue sauce. (Dang it was good!) I loved that half the vegetable/sauce mixture went in the meatloaf, the other half reserved to serve with the meatloaf. The fact that the recipe included all three vegetables I believe are a must in meatloaf appealed to me, however, after noticing there was no seasoning in the recipe, I felt compelled to add one of my favorite seasoning blends. I scaled this down to two servings for a meal for the two of us with no leftovers. Using just 1/2 pound of ground beef made it impractical to prepare this as a meatloaf, so I made little muffin meatloaves with it, which made five. If you add some seasoning, this is a darned fine meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Delicious - I guess that's why the classics never die and this is definitely comfort food at it's best! The addition of some veggies was a nice touch. I did add just a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes to give it a little kick and I also added a little dijon mustard to the ketchup to up the flavor a little. Overall, perfect served with "Garlicky Potatoes" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Amazing! Best meatloaf ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking34

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was very moist and the perfect blend of flavor. My boyfriend had two large helpings and the leftovers went fast. This was good enough to be a signature dish making it again for the second time cant wait love it. I made this again without the Heinz ketchup and it isn't the same it also makes a difference what bread crumbs you use saltine crackers are best or a top of the line bread crumbs none of that granulated crumbs in a can if you do this recipe exactly as stated its awesome any deviation does not work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Reilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Heinz Classic Meatloaf Haiku: "Total fall-apart. Sauce nothing special either. Guess I'm glad we tried!" We love meatloaf, and also love (if there are leftovers), making meatloaf sandwiches. This particular meatloaf totally fell apart, so we ate meat-crumbles w/ the ketchup-ey 1/2 reserved "sauce" over baked potatoes and broccoli. I liked the sauteed veggies that went into the meatloaf, but w/o additional seasoning/spices, this just had very little flavor, and a far cry from a meatloaf texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. Each time I put 1/2 the ketchup/pepper mixture in the meatloaf and then I put the remaining on top of each loaf. It almost creates a nice glaze on top vs. putting the sauce on after cooking. Very easy and good meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly Salinas
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Turned out awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Salinas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

The Best Meatloaf

This meatloaf is hearty and easy to assemble, a great weeknight meal.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States