Heinz® Classic Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Heinz Classic Meatloaf Haiku: "Total fall-apart. Sauce nothing special either. Guess I'm glad we tried!" We love meatloaf, and also love (if there are leftovers), making meatloaf sandwiches. This particular meatloaf totally fell apart, so we ate meat-crumbles w/ the ketchup-ey 1/2 reserved "sauce" over baked potatoes and broccoli. I liked the sauteed veggies that went into the meatloaf, but w/o additional seasoning/spices, this just had very little flavor, and a far cry from a meatloaf texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. Each time I put 1/2 the ketchup/pepper mixture in the meatloaf and then I put the remaining on top of each loaf. It almost creates a nice glaze on top vs. putting the sauce on after cooking. Very easy and good meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly Salinas
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Turned out awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Salinas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Delicious - I guess that's why the classics never die and this is definitely comfort food at it's best! The addition of some veggies was a nice touch. I did add just a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes to give it a little kick and I also added a little dijon mustard to the ketchup to up the flavor a little. Overall, perfect served with "Garlicky Potatoes" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
After several failed attempts at making my grandmothers meatloaf, I finally turned to this recipe since meatloaf is one of my new husbands favorites. Now our family has a new meatloaf recipe. The flavor was perfect. Next time I adjust the recipe a little so it isn't as crumbly, but it tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This is meatloaf like my grandma made . . . delicious! We made gluten free bread crumbs to accommodate my son, and spread the other half of the sauce (+ 1 tbs cane sugar) to the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I can't really say that I love or dislike this recipe because I didn't follow the directions. For one thing, I mixed up the measurements on the onion and peppers, so it had half the amount of onion (that's entirely on me). Please be careful of this because it results in a lot less flavor. I didn't care for the idea of the sauce, so I sauteed the vegetables and put them in the mixture with the ketchup and about a tablespoon of Lea & Perrins. I also left out the celery. The flavor would have been much better had I used the right amount of onion. One other thing is that the meatloaf is crumbly. I don't know what I did wrong. I had two pounds of meat instead of a pound and a half. Maybe I should have used two eggs? I will try this recipe again, only next time I'll be more aware of my measurements. If done properly, it could be very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This was really delightful! Instead of the breadcrumbs I am from the old school that likes the saltine crackers. Moist, flavorful, tender and just all around GOOD! Served with mashed potatoes and green beans with onion and bacon. Great meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Surprisingly good, even tho' I had my doubts about the ketchup, er, "sauce." I just couldn't do this with ketchup alone so I added a small amount of water and barbecue sauce. (Dang it was good!) I loved that half the vegetable/sauce mixture went in the meatloaf, the other half reserved to serve with the meatloaf. The fact that the recipe included all three vegetables I believe are a must in meatloaf appealed to me, however, after noticing there was no seasoning in the recipe, I felt compelled to add one of my favorite seasoning blends. I scaled this down to two servings for a meal for the two of us with no leftovers. Using just 1/2 pound of ground beef made it impractical to prepare this as a meatloaf, so I made little muffin meatloaves with it, which made five. If you add some seasoning, this is a darned fine meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
The flavor was ok and that is why I gave it 2 stars. Otherwise, it just feel apart and didn't have "meatloaf" consistently. And again, it was just okay taste wise. Won't repeat this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

The Best Meatloaf

This meatloaf is hearty and easy to assemble, a great weeknight meal.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States