Hedgehogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This was very good...except I modified it a little. I cooked the rice first, and instead of using tomato soup, I used cream of mushroom. As per other reviewers, I also added some seasonings (garlic, paprika, rosemary/thyme blend) and minced onion and green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
I really loved these! I didnt have tomato soup, so instead I used one 15 ounce can of tomato sauce with one can of water, I also had scaled the recipe down by using 1 1/2 pounds of meat. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I give this 4 stars with some revisions as these would be so bland without some seasonings. I mix some minced onion, garlic powder, worchestshire, a little chili powder and some salt and pepper into my meatballs. Into the sauce I put more worchestshire, a little brown sugar, some beef boullion, a couple of tablespoons of wine vinegar or lemon juice, and a secret ingredient - 1/2 tsp. ground cloves. I've also used tomato juice in the sauce with success. The sauce is a little sweet and sour. We too call these porcupine meatballs, and we have them all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Good Meatballs, SUPER easy recipe, I thought a little seasoning would have been nice, but everybody liked this. I'll definitely fix them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shasta Lake, California, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I'm giving this three stars because it's a great -base- but it's missing important ingredients. I also know these as porcupines, but the main and most important (to my crew) ingredient is missing.. Chopped (or minced) onion. I add 1/2 to 1 onion, which is more than my original recipe called for but it adds great flavor. Be sure to -brown- these, don't just toss raw meatballs into the sauce (ick). This makes a yummy 'byproduct' of the browned bits in the pan.. the rice is not cooked soft (haven't added any sauce and finished cooking it yet..) but by the time the porcupine balls are browned, there are crispy bits of browned onion/rice/hamburger bits. The cook and whoever is wandering by generally gets a taste. Add garlic and Worcestershire to the sauce mix as well as salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
I went by the suggestions of others, and added seasoning to meat. This came out very good. My picky 11 year old loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyndeG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
I grew up on this stuff...but we called it porccupines. I remember it being much more flavorful though. This was extremely bland. The soup is much too watery to be the base. I tried to add some tomoto paste to thicken it up, but it was still watery. I may attempt the recipe again, but next time I'll add some salt and spices to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
recipe is delicious if you add seasonings, will make again.thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
My guys really enjoyed it. We really liked the tomato gravy over garlic mashed potatos. But I will spice it up a little next time. Salt, pepper, garlic powder, parsley....that should do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
Kinda bland...didn't go over real well at my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLFANCHICK1027

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States