Hedgehogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
We weren't to crazy about this recipe. If I do this again, I'll add some onion and a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANNE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I followed other suggestions. Added some jar tomato sauce to the mix and seasoned the meat. The kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I give this recipe a 3 because all in all it's a good basis to work with. The meatballs definately needed seasoning. I followed other reviews and added garlic salt, pepper, worschester and parsley. The tomato base was fine for a sauce my kids liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McClaughry Marek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Sorry - very bland - woould add some herbs and salt and pepper to the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This recipe, which we fondly remember being called Porcupines was much better when my mother made it. Her recipe was seasoned so very much better! Re: Hedgehogs, for fun see -http://www.cafepress.com/hhvalley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Not too bad!! I added minced onion, garlic powder, a liitle onion salt, a dash of worchestshire sauce and salt and pepper to my meat mixture. I also browned the meatballs first before adding to the soup. I served with mashed potatos and melted cheese on top. My boyfriend really liked them!! I liked them better the next day as leftovers. Will probably make again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Very easy to make. My kids all loved it. We served with mashed potatoes and vegetarian baked beans.... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famileof7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I added some spices to this recipe (the original seemed quite bland) and I browned the meatballs before adding them to the tomato base. Overall, we liked them , but this recipe is extremely heavy (even with served with steamed vegetables and salad). I doubt that I will make this as a main course again; however, I might make a smaller-sized version for an appetizer at dinner parties. I made a meatball sub for my husband's lunch with the leftovers, he liked that better than the original dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
It was good. I like ground beef and sometimes run out of ideas for something new. This was a great alternative to meatloaf. I added slices of fresh cheddar cheese over the meat balls which added a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
This is a good recipe. It reminded me of stuffed cabbage just withouth the bloating cabbage wrapped around the meatball. I also cooked the rice first and added more onion. I was worried it might be to soupy so I added a can of tomato sauce. It was delicious served over mashed potatoes. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLY826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States