Hedgehogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I call them Oven Porcupines instead of hedghogs. My mom used to cook them for me all the time! Its one of my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Starr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was great! We did use some left over already cooked rice (1 cup, per another reviewer's suggestion) and only 1 pound of ground beef because we were only feeding three. Also, as with just about any other recipe we use, we seasoned the meat to our liking (added some dried onion too), and we also added some Italian seasoning and pepper to the soup. We only had a can of cream of tomato on hand that was ready to serve, not condensed, and it made for a great sauce - I do wonder if 1/2 condensed soup and 1/2 water might be too watery... We also browned the hedgehogs in a little olive oil in a pan before putting them in the sauce to simmer. Anyways - we served it with mashed potatoes and peas like others suggestions, and it made for a great comforting meal on a cold fall night. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauryl
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Yummy. I cooked these for about two hours because I made them too big, and I also added garlic and chili powder and worcestshire sauce and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! But----to make them just like my grandma used to, I added a large pinch of cloves, cinnamon, about a tablespoon of sugar, and about a fourth cup of cider vinegar---very Polish! Yummy with noodles or mashed potatoes--this is comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Very good & easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn Zaffuto

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portage, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
These are a lot of fun for the children to help out with. My children enjoy mixing and shaping the "meatballs". We have subsituted different sauces for the tomato soup... They really love spaghetti sauce. My hubby prefers a brown gravy over them. Terrific meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
These are easy and fast. I agree with other reviews, though, that the rice was crunchy. And I added garlic, salt, pepper and W. sauce as recommended, and that made the sauce more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Easy enough. A nice change for lunch. My picky 11 year old ate it. I didn't want to eat it on more starch, so we ate it more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Very easy to make. My kids all loved it. We served with mashed potatoes and vegetarian baked beans.... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famileof7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Not too bad!! I added minced onion, garlic powder, a liitle onion salt, a dash of worchestshire sauce and salt and pepper to my meat mixture. I also browned the meatballs first before adding to the soup. I served with mashed potatos and melted cheese on top. My boyfriend really liked them!! I liked them better the next day as leftovers. Will probably make again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States