Hedgehogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 24, 2003
My mom called these porquipine balls. They are basically the same thing. There are a few differences from my mom's recipe though. We precook the rice so you don't have the issue with the rice not cooking. I use about a cup of cooked rice to about a pound of meat. Browned the meat balls for color. Used two cans of soup and reduced the water. Added a little bit of worchestshire sauce for zip. I think adding the veggies as another reviewer suggested is a great idea. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
Rice did not cook? Any suggestions how to not have that happen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Okay, not bad, but where's the excitement, the color, the zip? To the meat, rice and eggs, add a bit of finely chopped onion and a little parsley. Shape into meatballs and put in single layer on the bottom of the baking pan. Now, here's the secret!! Chop a couple carrots and celery stalks and sprinkle over and around the meatballs. Cover with a can of tomato soup and a can of diced tomatoes, with juice. Sprinkle with a little garlic powder and maybe a dash of worcestershire sauce. This makes delicious gravy to serve over mashed potatoes. Just be sure to bake long enough to make vegies soft. My mother always served this with green beans, applesauce and cottage cheese. Make a double batch. It freezes well, if you are lucky enough to have any leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! But----to make them just like my grandma used to, I added a large pinch of cloves, cinnamon, about a tablespoon of sugar, and about a fourth cup of cider vinegar---very Polish! Yummy with noodles or mashed potatoes--this is comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
Bland; very, very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I think the kids would like this, but I agree with other reviewers it will need some seasoning! I would also try different soups, eg chicken/mushroom, maybe thick veggie. Would be nice with some grated cheese on top too. Depending on the audience, I might put some more in the ball mix too, maybe chopped onion, or chillies. Probably a little grated garlic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
I thought this was ok. Nothing spectacular. I think it could use some seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
I really enjoyed these, but I wasn't to fond of the tomato gravy.Next time I will make a mushroom gravy instead. But thanks for the recipe it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This was a great dish. Just needs a little more spices to make it not so bland!! I will definitely make again!! Thx!! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
These are a lot of fun for the children to help out with. My children enjoy mixing and shaping the "meatballs". We have subsituted different sauces for the tomato soup... They really love spaghetti sauce. My hubby prefers a brown gravy over them. Terrific meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States