Hedgehogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I call them Oven Porcupines instead of hedghogs. My mom used to cook them for me all the time! Its one of my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Starr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was great! We did use some left over already cooked rice (1 cup, per another reviewer's suggestion) and only 1 pound of ground beef because we were only feeding three. Also, as with just about any other recipe we use, we seasoned the meat to our liking (added some dried onion too), and we also added some Italian seasoning and pepper to the soup. We only had a can of cream of tomato on hand that was ready to serve, not condensed, and it made for a great sauce - I do wonder if 1/2 condensed soup and 1/2 water might be too watery... We also browned the hedgehogs in a little olive oil in a pan before putting them in the sauce to simmer. Anyways - we served it with mashed potatoes and peas like others suggestions, and it made for a great comforting meal on a cold fall night. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Very good & easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn Zaffuto

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portage, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I used to make these when i first left home,nice nostalgic recipe. Someone asked how to get the rice to cook then add the water when it is boiling. I make this with lots of fresh basil in now for flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I must have done something wrong because mine didn't stay together. It ended up being a very messy fricasse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
My mom made these and called them porcupine meatballs. She used instant rice and it worked fine. But she made hers just like you make meatloaf with onions, peppers, everything except the tomatoes. She then dropped the meatballs into hot home canned tomatoes and cooked until done. She served hers with mashed potatoes, green peas and biscuits. We got a lot of laughs when we told others we had porcupine meatballs. We waited a few to let them know it was beef, not porcupine meat. I am 52 and still make them to this day. She got the recipe off a drive-in movie screen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
My mom made a version of this and we called it stuffed cabbage. Using basically the same recipe, except first parboiling cabbage and stuffing the 'balls' into a leaf and folding it shut. Pour the soup over and either slow stove top cook it or bake. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Easy enough. A nice change for lunch. My picky 11 year old ate it. I didn't want to eat it on more starch, so we ate it more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauryl
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Yummy. I cooked these for about two hours because I made them too big, and I also added garlic and chili powder and worcestshire sauce and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
The basics for this recipe are ok but it is too bland. I added seasoning salt/pepper/basil/cayenne pepper/chili powder/onion powder. Also added touch of liquid smoke, angostura bitters and soya sauce. Meat came out very moist and the kids said it tasted like "more."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States