Hedgehogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Good...not great. Okay if you are in need of a quick meal and are sick of the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheChaoticChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penfield, New York, USA
Living In: Walworth, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
While I didnt try this actual recipe I grew up with something similar. My mom called it porkupine meatballs and used milk instead of water and some onions. She mixed the rice, meat, onions, some soup and milk into the meatballs themselves then poured the remaining soup milk mixture under and over top of the meatballs and then slow cooked them for 8 hrs on low. Still a favorite of mine and now my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
The family loved this! I did add about two tablespoons of Zataran's seasoning salt to the meat mixture, as well as, chopped green onions, bell peppers, about two tablespoons of onion powder and two tablespoons of garlic powder. I also used Chunky Campbell's zesty tomato Bisque as well....it gave it a little more flavor. I served over steamed white rice, with mixed veggies. The only downside is that it doesn't look all that appetizing, but I'll work on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I followed all directions but rice was not cooked all the way had to cook 35 min. longer.other than that it was very good will make again. Added extra seasons and used cream of mushroom soup with mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Good, but average. Added seasoning, of course. Browned the porcupine balls before adding soup. Oh! And used cooked rice, since I don't have instant. Thus, I did lower water by about 1/2 cup. Soup still turned out plenty thick enough for a "gravy". Served with a cabbage salad (often seen as a Chinese chicken salad). Had plenty for leftovers tomorrow, even with everyone eating 2-3 a piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
These are really good. Remind me of halupki without the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Our family recipe is called porcupine meatballs as well and contains chopped onions in the meatballs and has tomato juice instead of tomato soup and water. We place meatballs in a roasting pan or a crock pot and then add on peeled chopped potatos and lengthwise sliced carrots. fill the pan or crock pot 1/2 to 3/4 full with tomato juice. Wonderful for those cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
As it is written, very bland indeed. I took the advice of others and added minced onion to the burger and pre-cooked the rice and browned the meatballs. I also added seasonings and worcestershire sauce to the soup and garnished with shredded cheese. Those changes made it a three or four star (thanks other reviewers!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
These are easy and fast. I agree with other reviews, though, that the rice was crunchy. And I added garlic, salt, pepper and W. sauce as recommended, and that made the sauce more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States