Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2000
This is a gem of a recipe--I would give it 7 or 8 stars if you would let me! I followed the directions exactly and came up with a gorgeous-textured, good-tasting cake that could take a little handling as I decorated it. The old recipes with butter are absolutely the best! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
I found this cake recipe to be terrific. I just made it for my office for someone's birthday, and we are all eating it up as I write this review. This recipe makes a very rich, white cake with a very moist crumb. I do agree with the people who added an extra 1/2 cup of milk -- it's necessary. The batter probably would have turned out fine without it, but I thought it looked a lot better with the extra milk. Another suggestion I would make is to flip around the instruction steps in the recipe, as I did. I made the butter and flour batter first and then covered it with plastic while I whipped the egg whites into meringue. I feared that making the meringue first, as the recipe instructs, would cause it to run or weep or go flat while I was making up the other batter. Overall, I really endorse this recipe if you need a white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
My daugher requested a white cake for her 7th birthday. I tried this recipe and absolutely loved it!! I've never made white cake from scratch before, and it was so easy and it tasted better than some wedding cakes that I've had! I made it a double layer in round cake pans. It was topped with Barbie decorations and she was so pleased and she loved the cake as well as the whole family! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
This cake is delicious. I made it for my son's graduation and everyone loved it. It takes a little more time to make because of having to beat the egg whites, but it is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This cake was a delicious cake, it was a little bit heavy, and I had to add about 1/2 cup more milk... I recommend this cake with "French Buttercream Frosting". And a fruit filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This cake was wonderful! I baked it in 3 pans and then put layers of whipped cream and sliced bananas between the layer. I frosted it with whipped cream. Absolutely delicious! I did add and extra 1/2 cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This is a terrific white cake recipe! I've tried a few white cake recipes and this one takes the cake! :-) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fiume Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I have tried this cake for two seperate events and both times it was the talk of the party. Excellent taste, very moist, and melt in your mouth good. It is worth the extra time it took to make this cake. Wonderful white, wedding like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Absolutely delicious! At first I was concerned that this cake may be too heavy, too dry or too bland as some reviews stated, but it turned out perfectly for me. I did add the extra 1/2 c of milk and made sure to use CAKE flour, sifting once before measuring as the recipe stated. Also, start watching for doneness 5 - 8 mins early. I topped it off with the "white cake frosting" recipe submitted by Amy Parsons. Served it next day. Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
I was concerned about the cake being too dry after reading the other reviews but I think the key is to do the required sifting as the recipe calls for. This cake was great and it took a lot of work but well worth it after you get all of the great reviews from Family and friends. I did add the extra 1/2 cup of milk. I too used the White Cake Frosting recipe submitted by Amy Parsons and everyone just LOVED IT. I will use this White Cake recipe as my new basic cake from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States