Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This recipe is awesome! Thank you Carol. I read all of the reviews and was concerned about how this would turn out. I, like some other reviewers consider myself a A+ baker, especially cakes. So, I would have felt bad if this didn't turn out well. But, I noticed that many others had success and I thought surely I could use their suggestions. I wrote out all of the suggested adjustments to this recipe and did those, and it tastes...well, heavenly! If you don't want to go through all the reviews, here's the adjustments... Use 1&1/2 cups of milk instead of just one. Wait till the other ingredients are mixed before you make your meringue, and then fold it in rather than beat it. I also made a few other adjustments to make mine low fat. I used skim milk, and light butter with canola. I made 24 cupcakes and they are wonderful! Note that the batter seems thin, but it makes up moist wonderful cupcakes. Also, do make sure to notice that you are suppose to sift the flour first, then measure and add baking powder and salt, then sift all together three times. I'm wondering if some of the other reviewers didn't notice that you were suppose to sift the flour before you even measure it out to add the baking powder and salt. It could have been the difference. I hope you decide to make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
While white and yellow butter cakes can have a tendency to be dry, this was not the case here. This is a beautiful light and fluffy, MOIST white cake. I don't know if it was necessary or not, but I added an extra 1/2 c. of milk as other reviewers suggested. I will be curious to try this recipe with the amount called for next time, to compare. Thanks for sharing this "heavenly" white cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2001
I found this cake recipe to be terrific. I just made it for my office for someone's birthday, and we are all eating it up as I write this review. This recipe makes a very rich, white cake with a very moist crumb. I do agree with the people who added an extra 1/2 cup of milk -- it's necessary. The batter probably would have turned out fine without it, but I thought it looked a lot better with the extra milk. Another suggestion I would make is to flip around the instruction steps in the recipe, as I did. I made the butter and flour batter first and then covered it with plastic while I whipped the egg whites into meringue. I feared that making the meringue first, as the recipe instructs, would cause it to run or weep or go flat while I was making up the other batter. Overall, I really endorse this recipe if you need a white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This cake is absolutley delicious! I took the advice of others and used an extra 1/2 cup of milk. It's moist, light, fluffy and oh so good. I can't wait to try this with a number of fillings, frostings and for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2000
I have made this recipe several times, and find it necessary to add a little more milk than the 1 cup listed--the batter becomes very heavy without approx 1/2 cup extra milk to smooth it out. This is a dense, moist cake & very delicious. I have found that half the recipe makes one dozen very generous-sized cupcakes. The baking time is somewhat shorter for the cupcakes--you have to start keeping an eye on them at the 25-minute point so the tops don't burn. My daughter (6 rs old) loves it, even with the ready-in-a-can frosting from the supermarket. I have also used a home-made whipped cream type frosting with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Made some minor changes here - folded the beaten whites in rather than beating them in (holdover from culinary school - always fold in something you've whipped), omitted the almond extract, and baked in a 9x13 pan rather than 10x15. It came out lovely and fluffy - and seems to stay moist with the amount of milk recommended, if kept tightly covered. Served it with fresh blueberries and sweetened creme fraiche one night and homemade hot fudge another - it's also great on it's own! Thank you, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
I was concerned about the cake being too dry after reading the other reviews but I think the key is to do the required sifting as the recipe calls for. This cake was great and it took a lot of work but well worth it after you get all of the great reviews from Family and friends. I did add the extra 1/2 cup of milk. I too used the White Cake Frosting recipe submitted by Amy Parsons and everyone just LOVED IT. I will use this White Cake recipe as my new basic cake from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Amazing recipe! I made this for a cake for mothers day and got rave reviews! I made it with homemade strawberry filling and awesome homemade creamcheese icing. I decorated it and it looked as good as it tasted!(This cake is my profile picture!) There is no other white cake recipe I will ever use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 14yroldscanBAKE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This cake was wonderful! I baked it in 3 pans and then put layers of whipped cream and sliced bananas between the layer. I frosted it with whipped cream. Absolutely delicious! I did add and extra 1/2 cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I was very disappointed by this recipe. It tasted very flat. Even adding an extra 1/2 cup of milk it was still too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States