Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Mine came out very dry but tasted wonderful! I thought I should have added more milk when I was mixing the batter before I folded in the meringue and will add the additional 1/2 cup milk as suggested in the reviews (should have read those before starting). The texture was great and taste was AWESOME so I was close to getting that New Orleans Traditional White Almond wedding cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I thought this cake was moist and delicious. Did add about 1/4 cup of extra milk. I think the only this that I would change is to use less almond extract, maybe half the amount. It is a little time consuming, but well worth it. I used the Real Strawberry Icing from this site. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
It's very bland and dry. I wouldn't bother making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I made these into cupcakes and they turned out flat at the top. I tried it twice and I made sure that the baking powder wasn't expired. I don't know why they turned out flat (maybe the batter is too light and airy?) but that didn't stop us from eating them! They were so good and so tender! Will definitely make this again as a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Loved this cake. I despise the chemical taste of boxed mixes and really prefer to make things from scratch. I used this cake for the base of the Coconut Poke Cake on this site. I added the extra 1/2 cup of milk other reviewers suggested as swapped the almond extract for coconut extract. The cake came out wonderful! So light and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wenonah
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Mine came out a little bit dry, but I believe that I over baked it a little bit. It still had a good taste and with good frosting, you wouldn't really care it it were a little dry. My only dislike about the recipe is that it is time consuming because of having to sift the flour so many times and if you are not taking your time with making sure you do not get any yolk or water into your egg whites, they won't whip! I had to start my egg whites over because of this. Instead of beating my eggs in, I too, folded them in. Next time I might try the suggestions of adding just a little more milk as well. If you take your time, you will have a great cake. If this is something you want to make on the fly, you may want to consider something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenonah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Wonderful recipe -- I read the reviews and adjusted the amount of milk to 1 1/2 cups and also made sure to allow sufficient time for creaming the butter and sugar (about 8 minutes). I think 1 1/4 cups might actually work for the milk and will probably give that a try next time I make it. I used a buttercream frosting, but am thinking a lighter frosting (perhaps even freshly whipped cream) and berries would be really nice. Overall, the cake was really light and moist.I was extremely pleased with the results. Also, I had several people ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This was a good cake. I did make as written, adding strawberries at the end. It did find that it was a thick batter - but it was not dense. I would make this again. It was not overly sweet, which was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This is a very light, fluffy, and delicious cake! I used half the recipe to make 12 good-sized cupcakes and frosted them with the "white frosting" recipe on this site. Both the frosting and the cake are amazing, and together they taste like a lil slice of heaven. I will DEFINITELY be using this recipe to make a strawberry bar cake for Mother's Day for my mom. Yum! ***CHANGES I MADE*** I added 1/4 cup extra milk(add 1/2 if your using original recipe amount) and used all purpose flour since i don't have cake flour. Next time, i will substitute the tsp of almond extract for an extra tsp of vanilla, since i'm not really a fan of almond flavoured cake. Thank you for this amazing recipe Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
this is great to decorate and use as a base for wedding/birthday cakes. I did fold the egg whites very delicately, and I added the extra 1/2 cup of milk. It worked beautifully: used white chocolate creme patissiere to fill it, wetting the 2 layers generously before with sour cherry juice, which contrasted beautifully with the cloying sweetness of the white choc. Also, the juice tended to give a soft pinkish color to the cake, which is the desired effect, as the party was for my little girl. So versatile, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States