Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I made this for my sons birthday september 30th 2013 and it was delicious!!!! Will be my fav recipe to make from now own i did add the extra 1/2cp of milk but i felt it needed more, i also sifted 3 times like it said! A bit heavy of a cake but absolutely love it!!! Might make my wedding cake out of this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Today is the second time I make this cake---this time for my birthday!!! anyway, I did add 1/2 cup more water (I never use milk) as well. I love this recipe! Thanks for posting! Cake stays moist for days!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This is absolutely the best white cake recipe I have ever made. I've used it for a couple of family functions now to make cupcakes and everyone loves it. I use a maraschino cherry frosting with it that is delicious with the almond flavour. The only change I made to the recipe was to add 1/2 cup milk upon the suggestion of others, otherwise it is made exactly as written. I do agree that those who have not had luck with this cake may not have noticed that the recipe indicates to sift the flour before measuring. This is very important!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
After reading all of the reviews I was really torn on whether or not to add an additional cup of milk. I decided not to and the cake was fantastic. Perhaps it would have been even better with it, but I didn't want to risk it and was very pleased with the results. It's a great cake: good flavor, great texture. I love the combination of vanilla and almond. I made this into cupcakes and in each, put one medium cookie scoop's worth of batter plus one small scoop. It yielded 24 cupcakes, which I baked for 17 minutes. Thank you for the recipe, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Well, would not using cake flour make my cake a dull tasting disaster?Made this for a special birthday and was embarassed !! I cook and bake often but obviously not the kind of baking that I keep cake flour on hand. All ingrediants were fresh so that wasn't the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was a great cake I tried it with a pineapple filling between two layers and a white frosting. I did use 1 and 1/2 cup of milk instead of the 1 cup and it was great yes I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I used the suggestion of adding extra milk but I added 1 1/4 c milk and 1/4 c sour cream. Since, I didn't have almond extract on hand I used double the vanilla. The batter was fluffy and not thin. They baked up light and fluffy with an amazing flavor. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Oh this is fantastic! I layered it with mango frosting and it was one of the most awesome cakes ever. Can't wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I have baked cakes for 45 years and this is the best white cake I have ever made, by far. It was light and moist. I did follow suggestions and added 1/2 cup more milk when the batter seemed too thick to me. I frosted the cake with vanilla buttercream and received rave reviews from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I used this cake as the middle of a three-layer wedding cake (sandwiched with chocolate). Per other reviews, I increased the milk to 1 1/2 cups, and threw in a dash more almond extract. This has a lovely silky-soft crumb, just sturdy enough to hold its own against a denser chocolate cake, and froze/defrosted beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States