Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was a great cake I tried it with a pineapple filling between two layers and a white frosting. I did use 1 and 1/2 cup of milk instead of the 1 cup and it was great yes I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I used the suggestion of adding extra milk but I added 1 1/4 c milk and 1/4 c sour cream. Since, I didn't have almond extract on hand I used double the vanilla. The batter was fluffy and not thin. They baked up light and fluffy with an amazing flavor. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Oh this is fantastic! I layered it with mango frosting and it was one of the most awesome cakes ever. Can't wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I have baked cakes for 45 years and this is the best white cake I have ever made, by far. It was light and moist. I did follow suggestions and added 1/2 cup more milk when the batter seemed too thick to me. I frosted the cake with vanilla buttercream and received rave reviews from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I used this cake as the middle of a three-layer wedding cake (sandwiched with chocolate). Per other reviews, I increased the milk to 1 1/2 cups, and threw in a dash more almond extract. This has a lovely silky-soft crumb, just sturdy enough to hold its own against a denser chocolate cake, and froze/defrosted beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
AMAZING! This is also great if you need to make a fun color. I used this recipe and placed red food die in it and it turned out perfect with a bright vibrant color and tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I already bake this cake and I love it , it reminds me my own wedding cake ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This turned out great - light and fluffy the way I like it. I added an extra 1/2 cup of milk as others suggested (don't see how it would have been the proper consistency otherwise) and used all vanilla and no almond since we love vanilla. I also added a tiny bit of cream of tartar when making the meringue. This will be my go-to white cake recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I love this cake recipe! I have tried it with n without the almond extract and it is delicious either way. I used red and blue food coloring for 4th of July cupcakes and paired them with a cream cheese frosting . . . Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States