Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
yum! excellent cake. I love cakes from scratch. I vow to never use a cake mix again. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
It was a very nice texture... If you do what most of the other reviews say, which is to add 1/2 cup of milk in addition to the original 1 cup. Also always fold in your whipped egg whites, because mixing them in with your mixer decreases the air- which is the whole purpose of whipping them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This cake is so delicious. A big problem with white cake recipes is that they can tend to taste like angel food cake and/or be dry. Not this recipe. It is outstanding! I live in CO, so I adjusted the baking powder to 2 teaspoons for high altitude. I used 1 and a half cups 1% milk, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract and no almond. I did sift the flour into the measuring cup then leveled the top. This step is very important, or you might use too much and make a dense cake! I then sifted all the dry ingredients together 3 times. Make sure ingredients are at room temperature, and that the butter is still kind of firm and not melty. Also, whip the egg whites last, not first. Do not get any egg yolk in your whites or any fat what-so-ever, or your whites won't whip up. Egg whites whip better in a glass or stainless steel bowl. Plastic can retain a greasy residue. Alternate the flour and milk starting and ending with flour. Mix only until each addition disappears. Do not over mix. If you take these steps, your cake will turn out heavenly! I will look no more for a white cake recipe. Gonna make one today! UPDATE: I made cupcakes yesterday. Awesome! I took the time to weigh the flour, and It came to 9 ounces. As long as you don't go over that amount your cake should not come out dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I'm so happy with the way this cake turned out. I followed others' tips and increased the milk to 1 1/2 cups. I baked it in two round cake pans and then sliced the cakes to make 4 layers. I iced it with Rick's Special Buttercream Icing. The vanilla flavour is fantastic. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I thought this turned out beautifully. I had to adjust a bit, using 2 1/2 C all-purpose flour, and I used about 1 1/3 C milk since other reviews suggested more milk. And then I didn't have two sticks of butter so I used applesauce for 1/4C of butter. But otherwise I did as instructed, baked it in a Bundt pan for around 45 minutes, and it's moist and fluffy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This recipe was fantastic. I loved it. This was my second go at making it, the first time I did not use the right temp a big no no. I did make a couple of changes. I see eveyone was adding an extra 1/2 cup of milk, but I did not. I loved the texture the way it was, but did find it just a bit on the dry side the frist time, along with cooking it at a lower temp which also helped it to be on the dry side. Second time around I added 1 cup of butter instead of 3/4 cup. As I said I did not want to change the texture because it was truly perfect and I knew adding more milk would do just that. I also omitted the Almond. It's not a favorite of mine in cakes, so I just used more vanilla. Other than that no other changes. Just follow it to the letter. I also see where folks are saying do not beat the egg whites in or whip them in with the blender. The video did show where the egg whites were begin folded in, but I can see where in the instructions if you did not watch the video people would mix them in with the blender. If you do use the blender, use the lowest speed and just mix until they are incorporated. I paired this light, fluffy, moist white cake with a light vanilla buttercream frosting. Excellent! Thank you, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I am a young baker and I found this recipe great and easy to make. This is the first cake I have made and this recipe inspired me to bake more cakes !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Moist delicious quick and easy. I made it for thanksgiving for my family and it might not make it till tomorrow. I added m&ms to it to make fun and festive. I also added nutmeg instead of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Followed recipe and turned out very dry, and cardboard tasting. Not very sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This recipe turned out great. I did add the extra 1/2 cup of milk like others suggested. Worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States