Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I baked this cake for Easter and I used coconut milk in place of regular milk! I didn't use the almond extract because I was using the cake in place of a recipe that called for a box white cake mix. I read the reviews about adding extra milk, but I didn't because I poked holes in the three separate layers and I poured a coconut cream/sweetened condensed milk mixture over the cake to be absorbed over 8 hours. My daughter-in-law said this was the best cake I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I forgot to adjust the milk to the suggested amount of 1 1/2 cup and the cake was dry. It had flavor and it looked delicious, but it was too dry for my liking. Luckily, my homemade lemon butter cream icing saved the day. I am going to give this recipe one more chance and this time use 1 1/2 c of milk. I am also going to use 5 regular egg whites or 4 xl egg whites. Stay tuned....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica.williams31

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe, thinking it would turn out good seeing its high amount of good reviews. But i totally agree with people who said this cake is not good It taste just dough and nothing else. Though the skewer came out neat from centre, it just taste flour! I used the half cup extra milk as many said Totally disappointed with the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is simply amazing. I agree with the rest is, save the first step for last. And I have always learned using buttermilk instead of any other milk is the way to go. I use it even in my chocolate cake mix. No, need for the extra milk. Also, if you choose to make cupcakes don't fill them more than halfway. Thank you Ms. Carol...:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blazenviper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I used this recipe to make Zuppa Inglese. Baked in two 9" round pans, replaced the almond extract with 1/2 tsp rum extract. When cooled, I sliced each cake into two layers for a total of four. I alternately filled each layer with peaches, strawberries, mascarpone cheese and chocolate mascarpone. Then wrapped in ladyfingers and topped with a whipped cream frosting. The cake was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Turned out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabrielmihaly
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I used a raspberry sauce filling which addded some moisture to the finished cake. A white chocolate ganache icing was topped with whole raspberries for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielmihaly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Have to say the cake is too dry for my liking. I can't even give this more than one star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This cake is wonderfully vanilla flavored and light as a feather. I made it and froze it for a week and it was still fantastic! Great scratch white cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I've gotten about 2 dozen cupcakes out of one recipe as written; they're dense, but not too much so, they're fluffy, the texture is perfect. I actually forgot to add vanilla to my first batch (left out the almond as a matter of personal preference), and I could still happily eat them with no frosting; of course, the flavor was a bit flat with no extracts, but the texture is just that good. I did not add the extra milk that many others did, and so far no dryness problems, but I do make sure to use whole milk and real, quality butter (I love Kerry Gold) when I bake. It's not exactly health-conscious, but full fat = fuller flavor and smoother texture. Also, I whipped the egg whites just before adding them to the batter, and folded them in instead of beating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States