Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is an amazing recipe!! Like other reviewers, I used 1.5 cups of milk and made the meringue right before folding it in. I did not have cake flour, so I subtracted 2 tbsp of flour per cup (but I still sifted it before measuring and then three times more with the other dry ingredients); I also 1.5x the recipe, which made an 8 in round, a mini loaf pan, and a 10'' x 2'' round (don't ask, it was for a french project). Additionally, I really wanted to try to make rainbow cake (first time!) and this worked beautifully! I divided the batter to make orange, red, green, blue, purple, and yellow, then dropped globs of batter into the pan. Next, I used a toothpick to swirl the colors together, which made a nice marbled effect. I baked the cakes at 325 and just eyeballed the time (I always bake at this temp because my cakes cook more evenly this way). The color was great, and after cooling, I wrapped them in plastic wrap to keep them moist. Thank you so much, Carol! (P.S. I'll add a photo once I finish decorating!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This is a wonderful, wonderful moist cake. I reduced the sugar to only 1 cup, since I used a very sweet frosting; I also (as suggested in other reviews), increased the milk by 1/2 a cup (for a total of 1 1/2 cup of milk). This is a keeper. I finally found a great recipe for a homemade white cake. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This cake is entirely too dry... Even with extra milk. one 1/2 cup extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
So soft and moist. A perfect light and fluffy white cake. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I baked this cake for Easter and I used coconut milk in place of regular milk! I didn't use the almond extract because I was using the cake in place of a recipe that called for a box white cake mix. I read the reviews about adding extra milk, but I didn't because I poked holes in the three separate layers and I poured a coconut cream/sweetened condensed milk mixture over the cake to be absorbed over 8 hours. My daughter-in-law said this was the best cake I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I forgot to adjust the milk to the suggested amount of 1 1/2 cup and the cake was dry. It had flavor and it looked delicious, but it was too dry for my liking. Luckily, my homemade lemon butter cream icing saved the day. I am going to give this recipe one more chance and this time use 1 1/2 c of milk. I am also going to use 5 regular egg whites or 4 xl egg whites. Stay tuned....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica.williams31

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe, thinking it would turn out good seeing its high amount of good reviews. But i totally agree with people who said this cake is not good It taste just dough and nothing else. Though the skewer came out neat from centre, it just taste flour! I used the half cup extra milk as many said Totally disappointed with the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is simply amazing. I agree with the rest is, save the first step for last. And I have always learned using buttermilk instead of any other milk is the way to go. I use it even in my chocolate cake mix. No, need for the extra milk. Also, if you choose to make cupcakes don't fill them more than halfway. Thank you Ms. Carol...:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blazenviper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I used this recipe to make Zuppa Inglese. Baked in two 9" round pans, replaced the almond extract with 1/2 tsp rum extract. When cooled, I sliced each cake into two layers for a total of four. I alternately filled each layer with peaches, strawberries, mascarpone cheese and chocolate mascarpone. Then wrapped in ladyfingers and topped with a whipped cream frosting. The cake was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Turned out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States