Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
After reading all of the reviews I was really torn on whether or not to add an additional cup of milk. I decided not to and the cake was fantastic. Perhaps it would have been even better with it, but I didn't want to risk it and was very pleased with the results. It's a great cake: good flavor, great texture. I love the combination of vanilla and almond. I made this into cupcakes and in each, put one medium cookie scoop's worth of batter plus one small scoop. It yielded 24 cupcakes, which I baked for 17 minutes. Thank you for the recipe, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Well, would not using cake flour make my cake a dull tasting disaster?Made this for a special birthday and was embarassed !! I cook and bake often but obviously not the kind of baking that I keep cake flour on hand. All ingrediants were fresh so that wasn't the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was a great cake I tried it with a pineapple filling between two layers and a white frosting. I did use 1 and 1/2 cup of milk instead of the 1 cup and it was great yes I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I used the suggestion of adding extra milk but I added 1 1/4 c milk and 1/4 c sour cream. Since, I didn't have almond extract on hand I used double the vanilla. The batter was fluffy and not thin. They baked up light and fluffy with an amazing flavor. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Oh this is fantastic! I layered it with mango frosting and it was one of the most awesome cakes ever. Can't wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I have baked cakes for 45 years and this is the best white cake I have ever made, by far. It was light and moist. I did follow suggestions and added 1/2 cup more milk when the batter seemed too thick to me. I frosted the cake with vanilla buttercream and received rave reviews from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I used this cake as the middle of a three-layer wedding cake (sandwiched with chocolate). Per other reviews, I increased the milk to 1 1/2 cups, and threw in a dash more almond extract. This has a lovely silky-soft crumb, just sturdy enough to hold its own against a denser chocolate cake, and froze/defrosted beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
AMAZING! This is also great if you need to make a fun color. I used this recipe and placed red food die in it and it turned out perfect with a bright vibrant color and tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I already bake this cake and I love it , it reminds me my own wedding cake ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 678) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States