Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
The cake was very dense - very much like a pound cake. It had a slight egg taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeoITMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I liked how this cake turned out. It didn't taste quite how I expected it to, but we all liked it. I used this frosting: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/white-frosting/detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=white%20cake%20frosting&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
the cake was ok but it tasted very dry and almost store bought. i am tweaking some things to see if i can make it moist and not so store bought tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dani
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
4 stars cuz I changed it according to suggestions. = ] EXCELLENT place to start from, tho!! Added the 1/2c milk, certainly folded in the meringue, and no almond (no me gusta). So! All in all it came out like freakin heavenly angel food cake! I made 27 cupcakes & they were a smash hit!! = D However, some were afraid to eat them because they thought they were part of the art show (they were pretty hehe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
After rewriting the directions, it is a very delicious vanilla flavor cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This cake taste more like an angelfood cake to me. I'm not sure if "heavenly white cake" is supposed to taste more like an angelfood cake? The submitter does say it's an older one and maybe it's just not to my taste. Just not what i expected. it is VERY dense cake (think pound cake or angelfood)I did follow all instructions exactly, including sifting, and i did use a bit more milk. If your looking for a birthday cake light and fluffy cake, i would try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! I did modify it slightly as I didn't have cake flour, so used 2-1/2 cups all purpose flour plus 1/3 cup cornstarch. I also bakes it in a 9"x13" pan. It took 35 minutes to bake. I have searched for a light-weight white cake for forever and I have found a keeper with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Meklenschek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I have no idea what I did wrong with this recipe. It mixed up beautifully, baked beautifully and then flopped! I baked it in two 9" round pans and it was beautifully rounded on top when I took it out. I set it on racks to cool and it immediately sunk in the middle. When it was cool the middle was only about half an inch thick! I was so excited when I found this recipe! I don't know if the cake just fell, or if something else is wrong. It seems really heavy and greasy. It was a delicious taste, but I just can't do anything with it. I would try it again if somebody could tell me where I went wrong? I usually am a great baker and everything turns out, so this one is a mystery to me! Email me at: 1013918@gmail.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I've now made this cake twice and it's just amazing. I think the almond flavoring is what makes it amazing. This is going in my "go-to cake" collection. Thanks for sharing it. As a side note, it tastes great with an american buttercream flavored with almond rather than vanilla. It just makes the cake all the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I used this recipe for my wedding cake and it came out fabulous, I was so pleased how well it tasted, looked, and held up. Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States