Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This turned out great - light and fluffy the way I like it. I added an extra 1/2 cup of milk as others suggested (don't see how it would have been the proper consistency otherwise) and used all vanilla and no almond since we love vanilla. I also added a tiny bit of cream of tartar when making the meringue. This will be my go-to white cake recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I love this cake recipe! I have tried it with n without the almond extract and it is delicious either way. I used red and blue food coloring for 4th of July cupcakes and paired them with a cream cheese frosting . . . Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This was just a weird cake. A little dense, but not bad. WAY too salty, which is why I think some people thought it tasted like cornbread. More like a cross between sweet cornbread and angel food cake. I did use the extra half cup of milk, and folded in the egg whites. The taste was just off. Maybe try decreasing the salt and for Pete's sake use unsalted butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Beautiful and delicious cake! It's really important to follow the instructions exactly by creaming the butter and sugar well. This cake has a light and moist texture and tasty, too. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Mine came out very dry but tasted wonderful! I thought I should have added more milk when I was mixing the batter before I folded in the meringue and will add the additional 1/2 cup milk as suggested in the reviews (should have read those before starting). The texture was great and taste was AWESOME so I was close to getting that New Orleans Traditional White Almond wedding cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I thought this cake was moist and delicious. Did add about 1/4 cup of extra milk. I think the only this that I would change is to use less almond extract, maybe half the amount. It is a little time consuming, but well worth it. I used the Real Strawberry Icing from this site. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
It's very bland and dry. I wouldn't bother making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I made these into cupcakes and they turned out flat at the top. I tried it twice and I made sure that the baking powder wasn't expired. I don't know why they turned out flat (maybe the batter is too light and airy?) but that didn't stop us from eating them! They were so good and so tender! Will definitely make this again as a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Loved this cake. I despise the chemical taste of boxed mixes and really prefer to make things from scratch. I used this cake for the base of the Coconut Poke Cake on this site. I added the extra 1/2 cup of milk other reviewers suggested as swapped the almond extract for coconut extract. The cake came out wonderful! So light and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wenonah
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Mine came out a little bit dry, but I believe that I over baked it a little bit. It still had a good taste and with good frosting, you wouldn't really care it it were a little dry. My only dislike about the recipe is that it is time consuming because of having to sift the flour so many times and if you are not taking your time with making sure you do not get any yolk or water into your egg whites, they won't whip! I had to start my egg whites over because of this. Instead of beating my eggs in, I too, folded them in. Next time I might try the suggestions of adding just a little more milk as well. If you take your time, you will have a great cake. If this is something you want to make on the fly, you may want to consider something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wenonah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States