Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This is a wonderful, wonderful moist cake. I reduced the sugar to only 1 cup, since I used a very sweet frosting; I also (as suggested in other reviews), increased the milk by 1/2 a cup (for a total of 1 1/2 cup of milk). This is a keeper. I finally found a great recipe for a homemade white cake. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This cake is entirely too dry... Even with extra milk. one 1/2 cup extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
So soft and moist. A perfect light and fluffy white cake. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I baked this cake for Easter and I used coconut milk in place of regular milk! I didn't use the almond extract because I was using the cake in place of a recipe that called for a box white cake mix. I read the reviews about adding extra milk, but I didn't because I poked holes in the three separate layers and I poured a coconut cream/sweetened condensed milk mixture over the cake to be absorbed over 8 hours. My daughter-in-law said this was the best cake I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I forgot to adjust the milk to the suggested amount of 1 1/2 cup and the cake was dry. It had flavor and it looked delicious, but it was too dry for my liking. Luckily, my homemade lemon butter cream icing saved the day. I am going to give this recipe one more chance and this time use 1 1/2 c of milk. I am also going to use 5 regular egg whites or 4 xl egg whites. Stay tuned....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica.williams31

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe, thinking it would turn out good seeing its high amount of good reviews. But i totally agree with people who said this cake is not good It taste just dough and nothing else. Though the skewer came out neat from centre, it just taste flour! I used the half cup extra milk as many said Totally disappointed with the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is simply amazing. I agree with the rest is, save the first step for last. And I have always learned using buttermilk instead of any other milk is the way to go. I use it even in my chocolate cake mix. No, need for the extra milk. Also, if you choose to make cupcakes don't fill them more than halfway. Thank you Ms. Carol...:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blazenviper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I used this recipe to make Zuppa Inglese. Baked in two 9" round pans, replaced the almond extract with 1/2 tsp rum extract. When cooled, I sliced each cake into two layers for a total of four. I alternately filled each layer with peaches, strawberries, mascarpone cheese and chocolate mascarpone. Then wrapped in ladyfingers and topped with a whipped cream frosting. The cake was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Turned out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabrielmihaly
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I used a raspberry sauce filling which addded some moisture to the finished cake. A white chocolate ganache icing was topped with whole raspberries for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielmihaly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 651) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States