Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This recipe was fantastic. I loved it. This was my second go at making it, the first time I did not use the right temp a big no no. I did make a couple of changes. I see eveyone was adding an extra 1/2 cup of milk, but I did not. I loved the texture the way it was, but did find it just a bit on the dry side the frist time, along with cooking it at a lower temp which also helped it to be on the dry side. Second time around I added 1 cup of butter instead of 3/4 cup. As I said I did not want to change the texture because it was truly perfect and I knew adding more milk would do just that. I also omitted the Almond. It's not a favorite of mine in cakes, so I just used more vanilla. Other than that no other changes. Just follow it to the letter. I also see where folks are saying do not beat the egg whites in or whip them in with the blender. The video did show where the egg whites were begin folded in, but I can see where in the instructions if you did not watch the video people would mix them in with the blender. If you do use the blender, use the lowest speed and just mix until they are incorporated. I paired this light, fluffy, moist white cake with a light vanilla buttercream frosting. Excellent! Thank you, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I am a young baker and I found this recipe great and easy to make. This is the first cake I have made and this recipe inspired me to bake more cakes !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Moist delicious quick and easy. I made it for thanksgiving for my family and it might not make it till tomorrow. I added m&ms to it to make fun and festive. I also added nutmeg instead of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Followed recipe and turned out very dry, and cardboard tasting. Not very sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This recipe turned out great. I did add the extra 1/2 cup of milk like others suggested. Worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I have made this cake many times and definitely need to add the 1/2 cup of extra milk otherwise the cake is too dry. I also have attempted to use this cake and make a chocolate chip cake however due to the lateness of the cake and the weight of the chocolate chips I have been unsuccessful. I have tried to wait between five and seven minutes and then add the chocolate chips but they still sink to the bottom. I have not attempted to use mini chocolate chips yet I think those may work better. Just food for thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court0424

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I wish I had read the reviews before making the cake. It was a tad dry and dense. I should have added more milk. Did others sift the flour and then measure the it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dgaulden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
The cake was really good...I used another 1/2 cup of milk.This cake is perfect for those people who don't like chocolate cakes.And it's also great for layering...I would defenitely recommend this to others...this has now become my go-to white cake recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Tasty. Beautiful. Moist. Body. Def not a box cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was an easy delicious cake ,but I decided to make it a bit healthier, I cut the amount Crisco to 1/2 cup instead of 1 cup and I used orange extract. My family loved the moistness and rich flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gogreen777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States