Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This cake turned out beautifully and delicious! I followed the recipe except for the following: I added an extra 1/2 cup of whole milk as suggested by other reviewers, and I made the merengue as my last step and then folded it into the batter. After reading reviews for a different white cake recipe, I beat the butter and sugar on high for about 8 minutes, scraping the sides of the bowl a few times - I think this was a key step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
MMMMMM. I've made this recipe lots of times, yum yum YUM! I don't have almond extract, but it still works out fine, with marshmallow frosting or buttercream frosting or whatever. It is the answer to my endless cake recipe search.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Layna Sutton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zandj
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I used this recipe for my daughter's birthday cake and it turned out wonderfully despite being made the day before the party, a good buttercream frosting kept it nice and moist. I did add the extra 1/2C milk as mentioned in other reviews, doubled the recipe and divided each batch by 4 to make an 8 layer rainbow cake. PHEW! I also used all vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zandj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Came out really nice. I think almond extract can be an overwhelming flavor, so I halved it to 1/2 tsp. I still felt the flavor was too much so next time I will omit the almond altogether. Otherwise, really happy with it. I followed other suggestions to make the merengue last and I upped the milk to about 1 and 1/4 cups. It was moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Dolon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Oh my! Fantastic cake! The element in my oven went out, so it baked at about 300 degrees. It was the best mistake ever! The cake was so moist, it was better than the bakery cake downtown! I purposely put the temp down to 300 the next few times I made this cake. Still fantastic. I made the cake once at the regular temp and it wasn't moist at all. Bake it at a lower temp for longer time. That's how you do it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
No more using white cake mix out of the box. This was a little labor intensive for me since I have never have beaten egg whites before. Only changes I made is that I used organic cake flour, milk, and eggs. I did an a little extra milk after reading the others comments. I used two round baking pans. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Bernecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
My girl and myself measured everything perfect! But, instead using a mixer like used in this recipe, we used a new food processor from kitchen-aid. There is only 2 speed options, so I started in LOW but then I just switched to HI, and it was very fast, it could be that? Perhaps, this is my second try recipe but the cake is hard, like uncooked in the middle and kind of greasy... I used a unbleached flour, I do not what it was wrong...any guess? Tks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Super yummy! I added the extra milk and replaced the vanilla with lemon juice and lemon zest. Topped with berries and sweetened whipped cream this was a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
s wonderful and light cake great with fresh.strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Pryor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Young
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Used 1 1/2 cups of milk like most people suggested as well as only using vanilla extract. Flavor turned out great. Cake is definitely more on the DENSE side rather than fluffy and airy...even after sifting all dry ingredients three times. Easy to frost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States