Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! I did modify it slightly as I didn't have cake flour, so used 2-1/2 cups all purpose flour plus 1/3 cup cornstarch. I also bakes it in a 9"x13" pan. It took 35 minutes to bake. I have searched for a light-weight white cake for forever and I have found a keeper with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Meklenschek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I have no idea what I did wrong with this recipe. It mixed up beautifully, baked beautifully and then flopped! I baked it in two 9" round pans and it was beautifully rounded on top when I took it out. I set it on racks to cool and it immediately sunk in the middle. When it was cool the middle was only about half an inch thick! I was so excited when I found this recipe! I don't know if the cake just fell, or if something else is wrong. It seems really heavy and greasy. It was a delicious taste, but I just can't do anything with it. I would try it again if somebody could tell me where I went wrong? I usually am a great baker and everything turns out, so this one is a mystery to me! Email me at: 1013918@gmail.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I've now made this cake twice and it's just amazing. I think the almond flavoring is what makes it amazing. This is going in my "go-to cake" collection. Thanks for sharing it. As a side note, it tastes great with an american buttercream flavored with almond rather than vanilla. It just makes the cake all the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I used this recipe for my wedding cake and it came out fabulous, I was so pleased how well it tasted, looked, and held up. Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
It was good, but I won't make them again as they taste like sweet biscuits with a cake texture. They didn't taste like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Just made this cake today and LOVE it! I did add the extra 1/2 c milk like others suggested and I did not use the almond extract, just the vanilla and upped the amount some. It turned out great! A wonderful cake with great texture, does not crumble and holds up well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
YUM! Moist and sturdy, won't fall apart when you try to stack layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
For the past year, this has been my go-to cake recipe. I make no adjustments. Yes, the batter is thick, but it cooks up wonderfully. We mix up the flavorings (just made it with rum extract last night - fantastic!), and use a whipped frosting rather than buttercream. It's never let me down. Be sure to store it in a cake container, though, as it does dry out if left out in the open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lowkie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. If I had wanted an almond tasting cake, then this would be it. However, all I wanted was a simple white tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Loved this receipt!!! I used 3 eggs and buttermilk and came out fantastic!!! Makes a little over two dozen cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States