Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I didn't like this recipe at all. disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Tried it and followed the recipe to a T and it taste like a biscuit. What am I doing wrong? I sifted sifted sifted. Only thing I can think of is maybe I needed the extra 1/2 cup of milk. It was very time consuming I don't think I'll be trying this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlene Tejeda
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I literally made an account just so I can comment on how amazing this cake is! I did use an extra 1/2 cup of milk like other reviewers. I made two batches separately and baked in 12 inch round pans for a big two later cake. It's the perfect base for strawberry shortcake. I stored it in the fridge after topping with whipped cream and strawberries and it stayed moist and delectable! I'll be making this over and over again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Tejeda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This is the better cake recipes that i have found. Most of the other ones i have tried comes out tasting like sweet cornbread (yuck), but this one is pretty good. Next time i will reduce the vanilla because i taste to much vanilla. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This cake ended up too much like angel food cake for my liking! I was looking for a vanilla cake that wasn't too dense and heavy. It was very easy to make and I used the other reviews to tweak the recipe. Very good and light and fluffy. I added raspberry mousse for filling and topping which was delish. Used 2, 9 inch pans and were done in 25 mins, started burning at 27!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I'm 19, I go to college for Art. I'm just learning how to cook and bake. It was awesome! This was my first cake made from scratch! I baked this for my grandmother's 82nd birthday. She loved it! She said it was the best birthday gift I could ever give her! For those who have been struggling, I would recommend what other commenters have said in the past: Sift the cake flour first and then measure your ingredients, then sift everything 3 times. I also added another half cup of milk. And (my secret ingredient to a moist white cake) I added to the measured ingredients before sifting 3 times, instant vanilla pudding mix. Overall it was GREAT! It was a hit at my grandmother's 82nd birthday! Everyone took a slice home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Success! My only ingredient change was to use just vanilla flavoring--personal preference. All amounts (including the milk) were kept exactly the same. I did change the order of how I prepared the contents by beating the egg whites just before I folded them into the batter. Everything was at room temperature. The texture and flavor were perfect, light, moist, and not too sweet. However, I could see that any technical deviations, e.g. not sifting the flour sufficiently, not measuring exactly, or stirring/beating in the egg whites could produce less than satisfactory results. Happy to find a recipe that really works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This had a really good flavor, but my cake turned out a bit dry and denser rather than light and fluffy. I am not sure what I did wrong, but I will try again perhaps with some recommendations from reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
It absolutely loved it! It tasted amazing, and as a beginning baker, my aunt and i had a fun time baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Great recipe thank you for sharing..I did like others and added the extra 1/2 cup of milk and instead of the 1 teaspoon of almond extract I used 1/2 teaspoon and 1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. I also mixed the ingredients first before making the meringue. Fabulous recipe will definitely be my go to recipe for white cake...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States