Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Turned out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabrielmihaly
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I used a raspberry sauce filling which addded some moisture to the finished cake. A white chocolate ganache icing was topped with whole raspberries for decoration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielmihaly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Have to say the cake is too dry for my liking. I can't even give this more than one star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This cake is wonderfully vanilla flavored and light as a feather. I made it and froze it for a week and it was still fantastic! Great scratch white cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I've gotten about 2 dozen cupcakes out of one recipe as written; they're dense, but not too much so, they're fluffy, the texture is perfect. I actually forgot to add vanilla to my first batch (left out the almond as a matter of personal preference), and I could still happily eat them with no frosting; of course, the flavor was a bit flat with no extracts, but the texture is just that good. I did not add the extra milk that many others did, and so far no dryness problems, but I do make sure to use whole milk and real, quality butter (I love Kerry Gold) when I bake. It's not exactly health-conscious, but full fat = fuller flavor and smoother texture. Also, I whipped the egg whites just before adding them to the batter, and folded them in instead of beating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
yum! excellent cake. I love cakes from scratch. I vow to never use a cake mix again. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
It was a very nice texture... If you do what most of the other reviews say, which is to add 1/2 cup of milk in addition to the original 1 cup. Also always fold in your whipped egg whites, because mixing them in with your mixer decreases the air- which is the whole purpose of whipping them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This cake is so delicious. A big problem with white cake recipes is that they can tend to taste like angel food cake and/or be dry. Not this recipe. It is outstanding! I live in CO, so I adjusted the baking powder to 2 teaspoons for high altitude. I used 1 and a half cups 1% milk, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract and no almond. I did sift the flour into the measuring cup then leveled the top. This step is very important, or you might use too much and make a dense cake! I then sifted all the dry ingredients together 3 times. Make sure ingredients are at room temperature, and that the butter is still kind of firm and not melty. Also, whip the egg whites last, not first. Do not get any egg yolk in your whites or any fat what-so-ever, or your whites won't whip up. Egg whites whip better in a glass or stainless steel bowl. Plastic can retain a greasy residue. Alternate the flour and milk starting and ending with flour. Mix only until each addition disappears. Do not over mix. If you take these steps, your cake will turn out heavenly! I will look no more for a white cake recipe. Gonna make one today! UPDATE: I made cupcakes yesterday. Awesome! I took the time to weigh the flour, and It came to 9 ounces. As long as you don't go over that amount your cake should not come out dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I'm so happy with the way this cake turned out. I followed others' tips and increased the milk to 1 1/2 cups. I baked it in two round cake pans and then sliced the cakes to make 4 layers. I iced it with Rick's Special Buttercream Icing. The vanilla flavour is fantastic. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I thought this turned out beautifully. I had to adjust a bit, using 2 1/2 C all-purpose flour, and I used about 1 1/3 C milk since other reviews suggested more milk. And then I didn't have two sticks of butter so I used applesauce for 1/4C of butter. But otherwise I did as instructed, baked it in a Bundt pan for around 45 minutes, and it's moist and fluffy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States