Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
s wonderful and light cake great with fresh.strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Pryor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittany Young
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Used 1 1/2 cups of milk like most people suggested as well as only using vanilla extract. Flavor turned out great. Cake is definitely more on the DENSE side rather than fluffy and airy...even after sifting all dry ingredients three times. Easy to frost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Young

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I added an extra 1/2 cup of milk like others recommended, and the cake is nice and moist. It's very easy to make and is sure to be a pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Decided on this recipe out of many for my son's birthday cake. Only substitutions were 2 tsps vanilla, thereby omitting almond, and upping milk to 1 1/2 cups. I followed"bakers rules" and folded meringue in. I had a blast putting this together and got rave reviews! This is a definite add to the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I was successfully able to triple this recipe for a larger sheet cake. :) It worked out great. :) I used it to make a 16x16x2 sheet cake. All I did was triple all the ingredients :) I rewrote the recipe with the amount of each ingredient adjusted. In addition, I made some notes to help while making this AWESOME CAKE. I have two Kenmore mixing bowls. Use the smaller Kenmore mixer bowl to make the meringue and use my whip attachment . Note to self, takes a least ten minutes or more to get a soft peak to meringue . Use the larger Kenmore mixer bowl for creaming butter and than adding the white sugar. My dry ingredients and milk will be added to this bowl. Combine my dry ingredients in a regular large mixing bowl. When adding meringue fold into cake mixture a little before turning on mixer. I added the meringue in portions. :) This prevented the batter from over flowing out of the Kenmore larger mixing bowl. :) Will definitely be using again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Guynup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Made this recipe to the T and it baked well, BUT it was too much work for a cake that tastes like it came out of a box. It was also way too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
too sweet..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Cesar Rios

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luftherz
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I read the reviews and also added the extra 1/2 cup of whole milk, and I have to admit this white cake recipe is really great! The texture is fairly unique; like a mix between angel food cake and traditional white cake, but it's a happy medium. Holds its shape very well and easy to cut into layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luftherz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melasa
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written and it comes out perfect every time! So light and moist! I did not feel the need to add extra milk and wonder if others are measuring the flour then sifting it when you need to sift the flour into the measuring cup then sift all the dry ingredients (I actually just use a whisk, much easier and yields same results). I also gently folded in the egg whites, as you should with anything whipped. Topped with the special buttercream recipe for my daughters first birthday and was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This recipe is very dense and more like a pound cake. I did sift my cake flour as directed and followed the recipe exactly except I added 1/4 c. extra milk. The flavor was nice but after two days this cake became so crumbly it was hard to eat. I wouldn't recommend it for a layered cake because it is quite heavy. I was making a layered cake so I ended up making a different white cake recipe that would be light and fluffy. I was disappointed in this recipe and would probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 646) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States