Heavenly White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written and it comes out perfect every time! So light and moist! I did not feel the need to add extra milk and wonder if others are measuring the flour then sifting it when you need to sift the flour into the measuring cup then sift all the dry ingredients (I actually just use a whisk, much easier and yields same results). I also gently folded in the egg whites, as you should with anything whipped. Topped with the special buttercream recipe for my daughters first birthday and was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This recipe is very dense and more like a pound cake. I did sift my cake flour as directed and followed the recipe exactly except I added 1/4 c. extra milk. The flavor was nice but after two days this cake became so crumbly it was hard to eat. I wouldn't recommend it for a layered cake because it is quite heavy. I was making a layered cake so I ended up making a different white cake recipe that would be light and fluffy. I was disappointed in this recipe and would probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
For some reason mine looked like a white cake but tasted like cornbread... Followed everything in the recipe, not sure what happened!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This cake tasted like it was made at a grocery store. I think it may be the almond extract that gave the cake a slightly unnatural flavor. If you enjoy almond flavor, and a drier texture to your cakes, this is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANicole
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This recipe created the best cake I've ever made!!! It was awesome! I made it for a baby gender reveal party and the guests couldn't get enough of it! I was asked if I sell them (um-no) and two people contacted me a couple days later asking me to make another one! I will say this though....this recipe is a - lot - of - work! I'm not one who bakes from scratch much anymore, I typically doctor up a box mix but this was definitely worth the work. I followed the many suggestions around the extra milk and folding in the meringue. Heavenly is right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This recipe is great. The cake comes out to be sweet, fluffly , moist and just perfect.. Loved it with sugar crystals on the edge.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is an amazing recipe!! Like other reviewers, I used 1.5 cups of milk and made the meringue right before folding it in. I did not have cake flour, so I subtracted 2 tbsp of flour per cup (but I still sifted it before measuring and then three times more with the other dry ingredients); I also 1.5x the recipe, which made an 8 in round, a mini loaf pan, and a 10'' x 2'' round (don't ask, it was for a french project). Additionally, I really wanted to try to make rainbow cake (first time!) and this worked beautifully! I divided the batter to make orange, red, green, blue, purple, and yellow, then dropped globs of batter into the pan. Next, I used a toothpick to swirl the colors together, which made a nice marbled effect. I baked the cakes at 325 and just eyeballed the time (I always bake at this temp because my cakes cook more evenly this way). The color was great, and after cooling, I wrapped them in plastic wrap to keep them moist. Thank you so much, Carol! (P.S. I'll add a photo once I finish decorating!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This is a wonderful, wonderful moist cake. I reduced the sugar to only 1 cup, since I used a very sweet frosting; I also (as suggested in other reviews), increased the milk by 1/2 a cup (for a total of 1 1/2 cup of milk). This is a keeper. I finally found a great recipe for a homemade white cake. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This cake is entirely too dry... Even with extra milk. one 1/2 cup extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
So soft and moist. A perfect light and fluffy white cake. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States