Heavenly Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by HeartBakerx4
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
These shortbreads were definitely 'heavenly' but i do think finished cookie was a little tasteless and a bit crumbly. however, the cute yellow icing designs on the cookies lifted everyone's spirit and appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeartBakerx4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gladwyne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I have made this recipe twice now. The first time, my husband told me to go back in the kitchen and keep making them. HA! I did add 1/4 cup sugar to the recipe which suited our sweet tooth a little more, but the cookies themselves are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I don't know what these negative reviews are all about. If you made the recipe the correct way, both the flavor and texture should be incredible. I accidentally made bricks (didn't plan on making the bars so thick) but people ate those up before the cut-outs were gone. This is going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MelissasMeals
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I'd give it 10 stars if I could! Perfect buttery shortbread cookies!! I followed this recipe exactly and these are fantastic!!!! I have never made them before but these are fool proof. I rolled the dough (make sure you use plenty of flour on the rolling pin) and made cut out cookies!! So delicate and yummy!! Thanks for sharing- I will be the coolest mom on the block for making these for the kiddos ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissasMeals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
The dough was delicious! I couldn't stop eating it, but sadly these didn't turn out for me, the baking time was WAAAY too long, they were dark brown after 20 minutes. I'm mad at myself because I thought the baking time was too long when I first put them in, I would've baked for 10 minutes and then checked them. Good flavor, too long baking time. Maybe I made them too thin. Oh well, maybe I'll try it again another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by professionalmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Grovetown, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I did not care for this recipe! The dough turned out too crumbly, more like corn meal in texture, and the cookies were so bland. I even added some vanilla as other reviewers suggested, but they just taste like barely sweetened butterfat with a poor texture. What a waste of time and ingredients. I advise looking for another recipe...I sure am!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiprock, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
this recipe is awesome. Actually messed up, would have been great the way it is written, but I downsized the pan, and shouldnt have. They took way to long to bake then came out partially raw near the middle. So, I cut it and re-baked for 10 minutes at 325, kind of like biscotti, and it turned out FANTASTIC!!! The regular recipe is 5 star, double baked it is 10 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IrishMountainGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is a very good shortbread recipe. Quick and easy. It is very much like the shortbread in Scotland and Ireland. My son says it is his new favourite snack. Perfect with tea or coffee. I will be making this for Christmas to give as gifts for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishMountainGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Very good shortbread. I cut into rectangles and drizzled with a powdered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Sometimes you just can't beat Walkers Shortbread. I didn't find this recipe that fantastic. I added a little almond extract and rolled them out into cookies. Not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma0517

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States