Heavenly Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This shortbread is great! The only thing wrong with it is that it came out kind of cakey. But the taste was delicious. It goes great with tea. I made it in a 13 x 9 inch pan, but I would reccomend cutting cookies instead. They would be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by journalist2

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Thanks, but no thanks. This "REALLY" misses the mark!!!! They need to be a little more firm and the butter taste where is it??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was good. My first time making shortbread. I used margarine as I didn't have butter. I also added about a tsp of vanilla. They came out pretty good. Seemed a little thick in a 15 X 11 jelly roll pan. The middle didn't get as crispy as i'd have liked but the edges did. May try the cookie scoop and pressing them out with the bottom of a cup next time. I added colorful sprinkles before I baked them, and drizzled with a little melted dark chocolate after they cooled. It made them even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This is a great recipe, possibly the best shortbread since it´s not just delicious but also very easy to make. I only had two sticks of butter, so I halved the recipe and rolled the dough into little balls. They baked in about 11 minutes. They are fantastic by themselves, but I also brushed some with lemon glaze. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odessyboina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Photo by HeartBakerx4
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
These shortbreads were definitely 'heavenly' but i do think finished cookie was a little tasteless and a bit crumbly. however, the cute yellow icing designs on the cookies lifted everyone's spirit and appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeartBakerx4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gladwyne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I have made this recipe twice now. The first time, my husband told me to go back in the kitchen and keep making them. HA! I did add 1/4 cup sugar to the recipe which suited our sweet tooth a little more, but the cookies themselves are fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I don't know what these negative reviews are all about. If you made the recipe the correct way, both the flavor and texture should be incredible. I accidentally made bricks (didn't plan on making the bars so thick) but people ate those up before the cut-outs were gone. This is going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MelissasMeals
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I'd give it 10 stars if I could! Perfect buttery shortbread cookies!! I followed this recipe exactly and these are fantastic!!!! I have never made them before but these are fool proof. I rolled the dough (make sure you use plenty of flour on the rolling pin) and made cut out cookies!! So delicate and yummy!! Thanks for sharing- I will be the coolest mom on the block for making these for the kiddos ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissasMeals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
The dough was delicious! I couldn't stop eating it, but sadly these didn't turn out for me, the baking time was WAAAY too long, they were dark brown after 20 minutes. I'm mad at myself because I thought the baking time was too long when I first put them in, I would've baked for 10 minutes and then checked them. Good flavor, too long baking time. Maybe I made them too thin. Oh well, maybe I'll try it again another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by professionalmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Grovetown, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I did not care for this recipe! The dough turned out too crumbly, more like corn meal in texture, and the cookies were so bland. I even added some vanilla as other reviewers suggested, but they just taste like barely sweetened butterfat with a poor texture. What a waste of time and ingredients. I advise looking for another recipe...I sure am!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiprock, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States