Heavenly Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
My DD has *nine* allergies to foods. This is the ONLY cookie that she can eat. She thinks it is heaven!! I use white and brown rice flour, potato starch, nucoa margarine and organic evaporated cane sugar. To change it up I also will sometimes add pumpkin pie spice. I drop them on a cookie sheet until slightly brown and voila... my girl gets to enjoy the wonders of a cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
It has been years since making shortbread and I had forgoton how to make it so I have just tried your recipie and I love it, but next time I will bake it a 350 as it took too long, also while it was still warm I sprinkled granulated surgar on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosie
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was so fast to make and it tastes great! I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
These are so easy to make and are really tasty! I thought that they were going to go wrong as I found it very hard to mix everything up evenly because the mixture was so crumbly. But it turned out fine in the end! They were a great sucess with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Telford, Shropshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This is really good but there are way too many calories!!! It would be nice if they were healthier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShineJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Marksville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Shortbread is one of my most favorite cookies and this recipe is very easy and very tasty. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is a tasty recipe in general-buttery and nice texture-but I thought it was a just a little bit "floury". I added 1/4 teaspoon vanilla, but I don't think that it contributed much to the taste. Needed about 15 minutes longer to bake than listed, and I halved the recipe and made it in an 8-inch square pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I made it earlier this evening and was very pleased. Tastes just like my grandmother's shortbread! I changed it a bit to my taste, using a half cup more of sugar, a teaspoon of vanilla, and had to add about 20 minutes to the baking time. I used a square baking dish instead of a jelly roll pan and then carefully cut into squares when done. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
If this doesn't taste like your grandma's, then your grandma must've been a lousy cook. This is amazingly buttery shortbread, and was easy to make. My only change would be to cook it a little longer (maybe 5-7 minutes), and cut it into bars with a pizza wheel before it sets. Mine turned out fantastic, and I commend the submitter for an outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I was pretty disappointed with this recipe. It was very floury - and tasted nothing like the cookies my grandma made when I was a kid. I'm going to get her recipe and post it - these cookies definately need icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zumikon, Zurich, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States