Heavenly Potatoes and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Yum! Definitely creamy comfort food! didn't have green onions so subst. yellow onions. Added 1/2 cup extra ham. Delicious! Served with broccoli on the side and also cantelope. Hearty enough for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
OK this is the first entree I have ever eaten three meals in a row! Rich, tender, savory... I absolutely love this recipe and WILL make it again... and again... and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustDMarine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This was sooo good I couldn't stop eating it. I used frozen country style hash browns (thawed), to save on prep time. And cream of mushroom instead of cream of chicken because I personally like it better. I baked it for a little over an hour and it came out perfect. They were absolutely "heavenly"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe as is. However, for a nice flavor boost, try ROASTING the quartered potatoes first. The goal is to get that nice roasted flavor without overbaking so that they still hold up in the casserole. So I roasted at 375 for 15 min, then turned the oven to 'broil' for the last 5 min. Perfectly crisp outside, but not mushy. Then follow the directions as stated. I also added 1 tsp of Dijon mustard because the ham-cheese-potato combo is divine with a little Dijon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I have made this dish many times. Our family loves potatoes, so we use this as a main dish. I follow the recipe except for cutting down on the butter. If I have extra ham, I will use that as well, since hubby usually likes more ham and less potatoes. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This was really tasty! I only had a few small changes. I left the green onions out and substituted Cream of Mushroom for the Cream of Chicken soup because of personal taste, and I used shredded Mild Cheddar+Monterey Jack cheese instead of just Cheddar. Did NOT add salt, but doubled the amount of chopped ham. I didn't have parmesan bread crumbs, so I made my own (following another reviewer's suggestion) by taking regular bread crumbs and mixing them with parmesan cheese and garlic salt. Turned out great! I watched my potatoes VERY carefully so that they were not overcooked when boiling, but in the end it took around 60 minutes in the oven to get them soft but not mushy or too crisp. I'm at around 5000' in altitude, and anything that goes in the oven can wildly vary on cooking time so this wasn't unexpected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good - my family loved it. I did follow the device of those who went before me. I have a large family, so i doubled the recipe, sauted 1 1/2 yellow onions and added at the mixing stage. I also used 2 cans of cream of chicken, and 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Italy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I have a recipe thats almost identical, only using shredded hash browns,which I prefer.For some reson the large potato chunks just didn't do it for us. The taste was good, we just like the hash browns better..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Max, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Owendale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This dish has excellent flavor, but as other reviewers mention, it does need more ham. Also, I had trouble getting the potatoes cooked all the way through. Next time I think I will use regular Idaho potatoes and slice them in thin slices rather than cubes. Overall, very good - real comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
i get really excited when i find a recipe that wows me. this one didn't. but we enjoyed it as a large side dish w/our saturday nite dinner and domino game. next time my sister-in law said we should make it our main course and use chicken instead of ham. sounds good to me. thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States