Heavenly Potatoes and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
As written, I would almost give this 3 stars. I omitted the additional bread crumbs and 1/4 cup butter at the end and even then my family all thought that this was too rich. That said, I did enjoy this and think it would be great with a little less butter in the base and a few more potatoes. I think taking the base with less butter, and less the breadcrumbs and add'l 1/4 cup butter, would be really great paired with scrambled eggs cooked separately. I'll definitely retain this recipe as a base. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
We thought this was only ok. I did use only half the potatoes and cut them up in reasonable sizes. I put 2 cups of chopped ham in it, but it definately could've used more. I also think it calls for way too many bread crumbs on top, and an addition of either fresh mushrooms and/or chopped hard-boiled eggs could have improved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Cooked this for a large group of people and it went over great! I used about 2 1/2 cups ham and we didn't have bread crumbs so I used garlic parmesan croutons crushed up and added more parmesan cheese. I really liked the crunch from the croutons. Got rave reviews and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I'm giving this two stars because I prepared it as written, and this recipe calls for far too many potatoes. The overall flavor was really good, but I have to agree with other reviewers who suggested cutting the amount of potatoes by 2 lbs or so, and cutting them into smaller pieces. Another complaint that I had was that the casserole did not "set up" well. It was pretty runny. I have a feeling it will be better the next day, which is fine by me because I love leftovers. I may try it again, with fewer potatoes and more ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hbrownlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very very good. We all enjoyed it. Used a bit more ham and less potatoes than called for and I only had Idaho potatoes so that's what I used. I used leftover ham from Christmas to make this and it was definitely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Giles Hester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Is was good, nice for leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 77-2Babinos
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Really good & quick. I did make changes, but I am sure the recipe is still 5 stars as stated! I used Yukon golds, bacon in place of ham, decreased the sour cream & butter by half and used two cans of cream of mushroom soup. My family ate the entire pan...no leftovers! Thanks for sharing you recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Loved it! My family of seven said it was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
My family loved this! Used the leftovers from our spiral ham to prepare this casserole. Followed the directions of misskim's review & it came out beautifully. Used Cream of Broccoli soup (that's what I had) & 2.5 lbs Yukon Gold potatoes. Cooked in a metal 9X13 pan at a temp b/t 350 & 375 for 30 minutes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Good recipe that turned out as I expected. I did not use red potatoes (didn't have them) and only used half of the recommended amount (of potatoes). Kept sauce ingredients at 12-serving size and that made enough sauce for us--if I'd halved the sauce I think it would have been too dry. Warmed up leftovers were still tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States