Heavenly Potatoes and Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Amazing. And that's for a lack of better words!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bethpage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
These were very good though next time I think I will use cream of potato soup instead of chicken. I think this will blend better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I'm afraid I can't give this recipe a full 5 stars. Wayyyy too much butter. But having made my modified version at least dozens of times now, I'm just here to give you more ideas. I skip all the butter, bread crumbs and cream-of-whatever soup. I add chicken stock if I need more liquid. I try to use all 3-Cheddar, Mozza and Jack. Add 2 or 3 tsp of your favorite spice. We like Greek Seasoning or Essence of Emeril. I've made with ham, bacon or sausage and we like all versions. This time, I very finely chopped a head of broccoli (no stalks) and added along with sliced black olives and cooked, sliced pork sausage. All the broccoli-haters were almost finished eating before anyone even noticed! They thought they were chives, which I had liberally sprinkled on top of the dish before serving. (It helped that they were eating while watching a playoff hockey game.) I've added finely shredded carrots, green peas or cooked, chopped spaghetti squash on occasion. Never one complaint! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
this was great! however, i used regualr bakers potatoes and the cook time was off. i boiled them for about 20 min then baked everything for 30 min but got crunchy, raw, uncooked potatoes. i put the bake back in the oven for another hour, so it got a total of 1.5 hrs of oven time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Not enough substance to it, seemed like something was missing. The butter on top made it too oily. Leftover's always get eaten in my house, won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Collingham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I added some garlic. My topping of bread crumbs didn't get cruchy liked I would have liked. Think I will use less next time. Maybe just a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
this is a delicious dish! makes lots of leftovers, which is great. don't forget to drain your cooked potatoes before you mash them. I didn't one, and ended up with potato soup. still good, but not what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I did a half recipe, as there are just 3 of us here. I substituted cream of mushroom for the chicken soup and (accidentally) added the whole can. Other substitutions were: used leftover garlic mashed potatoes, left out the salt, used Italian-style bread crumbs, cut WAY back on the butter and topped the whole thing with fresh mushrooms. It turned out fantastic! My dad, who never has more than 2 servings, went back for a smaller 3rd serving. It definitely doesn't need added salt (the ham has enough as it is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I have a very difficult family to please when it comes to dinners. My pickiest eater ate this right up and loved it! I will for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States